Make Up

Make up routine – step 2 – BASE (high-end) …

Prepare yourself – some of these are a bit pricey (ohmygod how much have I actually spent on high-end foundations?!)…

I consider a foundation high-end if it is around £30 or more really. However, as previously said in the budget post, more expensive doesn’t always mean better. On some occasions, the Bourjois foundations easily rival some of the ones below – it just depends what you’re after and what kind of finish you like. There are some here that I LOVE and would never, ever be without ever again.

One of the main downsides with high-end foundations is where to purchase them: only three of the ones below are available in Boots on the IOW, and if you live on the Island, that is a problem. That means I’ve had to make a very expensive gamble and order online and brave the colour selection – eek! I do A LOT of research before buying any beauty product, but especially foundation. I google swatches of all the colours until I am sure; I read other bloggers comments/reviews – a lot of them and I chat online with sales advisers to ask their advice (Bobbi Brown and SpaceNK are really good at this). There have been some cock-ups and friends who fit the colour have been in receipt of a nice foundation! If you’re lucky enough to live near a department store, SpaceNK or the actual retail shops – always ask for samples. Clarins do do this in Newport on the IOW. Also, a few websites (Charlotte Tilbury) send you samples of the foundations to try before you actually open the seal on the big bottle – a really nice idea and really helpful! Charlotte Tilbury actually sent me the sample of the one I’d ordered, plus the sample of the shade darker, so I could try both.

As with the budget ones, I apply these depending of skin condition/weather/feeling/temperature/longevity/coverage etc. I also vary the application method too: brush, sponge, beauty blender, fingers.

The swatches vary greatly – I am usually the palest shade, although it wouldn’t always appear that way from the swatch!

So, here they are (in all their glory!) 🙂

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat;  Clarins Everlasting; Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24hrs; Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation Stick; Kevyn Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer; Clarins Extra Comfort; Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder; Laura Mercier Silk Creme.
YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat; Clarins Everlasting; Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24hrs; Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation Stick; Kevyn Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer; Clarins Extra Comfort; Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder; Laura Mercier Silk Creme.

image

1. Yves Saint Laurent Le Teint Touche Eclat. Shade: BR10 (beige-rose 10) £31.50. If you’re a fan of the concealer Touche Eclat, you’ll love this! It is like TE for your whole face! I love it for nights out as it has no SPF in (if you wear SPF when taking lots of photos – no good for brides/bridesmaids – it reflects badly and makes you look like a ghost). It is lightweight, melts in to the skin. Comes in an amazing colour range (something for everyone!). It doesn’t feel cakey or cloggy and it has medium coverage that can be built to high if needed. I LOVE it! (and the bottle is gorgeous too – very classy!) http://www.boots.com/en/YSL-Le-Teint-Touche-Eclat-Foundation-30ml_1276286/

2. Clarins Everlasting Foundation. Shade 103 Ivory. £24.20 (cheaper than I thought it was!). I love Clarins foundations. If you want to dip your toe in to a high-end foundation brand, you can’t really go wrong with Clarins – and they have a counter on the IOW. Although I like this – and it does last – I do prefer to use this when my skin is a little oilier (the Extra Comfort coming up below if my favourite for dry days). It is light, blendable, smells nice, buildable, and lasts. A good all rounder at not a bad price for Clarins. http://www.escentual.com/clarins/200274/

3. Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H. Shade 02 Lys Rose. £29.50 (cheaper on FeelUnique). Again, there is a Lancome counter in Boots Newport, so a bonus there for colourmatching. I was colourmatched in Boots by the sales assistant and to be honest, I think it is too dark for me. I can get away with it with a tan in the summer, but not at my palest in winter – which is a shame as this foundation really does last! Not sure about the 24 hours though – as with others- why would you want to test that?! Eurgh. I do feel this works better when my skin is drier though – so may not be one for the oilier skins. Blendable, full coverage – good for bad skin days. Good colour range too. http://www.boots.com/en/Lancome-Teint-Idole-Ultra-24Hr-Foundation-30ml-Wear-&-Comfort.-Re-Touch-Free.-Divine-Perfection-SPF5_1251798/?cm_mmc=pla-_-google-_-PLAs-_-Boots+Shopping+-+Category+-+Luxury+Beauty

20150411_192246

4. Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation Stick. Shade: 0 Porcelain. £29. I waited ages to get hold of this as they never had my shade! This is a very very popular foundation. Really blendable and quick for on the go; just draw the stick on your face (I do a line on forehead, cheeks, nose, under eyes, sides of nose, chin and along jaw) and blend with fingers or a brush. Simple. Really nice coverage. Does need a powder to set (and might slide on oily skins). 24 shade options which is amazing. This also doesn’t feel like you’re wearing foundation as it is so light – but still gives decent coverage. Can be used as a concealer too. LOVE this! http://www.bobbibrown.co.uk/product/5141/29723/Makeup/Face/Foundation/Skin-Foundation-Stick/index.tmpl

5. Clarins Extra Comfort Foundation. Shade: 108 Sand. £31.50. SPF15. Of all my high-end ones, I think this is my favourite; I LOVE it! When I have dry skin, this works miracles. It doesn’t stick to dry patches. Great coverage without looking like you’ve slapped it on. It is easily blendable – I use a brush or fingers. It smells lush. It just ‘feels’ comfortable! A little goes a long way and it lasts all day long. Weirdly – I’m not the lightest shade in this which is odd – but 108 does suit me so maybe there is a colour difference between Clarins foundations. The only downside (sort of) if that it comes in a weighty glass jar – not very travel friendly – and I’m terrified of dropping it on the bathroom tiles! Other than that – this is my most recommended high end foundation! http://www.escentual.com/clarins/extracomfort001/?gclid=CKGF9ZmF9MQCFVTKtAodqjQAsQ

6. Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation. Shade: Rose Ivory. £35.00. A few years ago this was the only high end foundation I owned – and I loved it. Writing this blog has made me rekindle my love for Silk Creme. It is so pigmented, you only need about a pea sized amount to do your whole face. The trick to this is blend, blend, blend, buff, buff, buff – it requires a bit of arm work! The result is a smooth, flawless, luminous coverage that really covers but doesn’t look cakey. Oilier skins can use this too. The SpaceNK website colours aren’t very accurate, so if you’re near a SpaceNK – lucky you! I love this a lot. A great full-coverage-but-doesn’t-feel-like-it foundation. http://uk.spacenk.com/silk-creme-foundation/MUK163440553.html

7. Charlotte Tilbury Light Wonder Youth Boosting Perfect Skin Foundation SPF15 (mammoth name!). Shade: 1 Fair. £32.00. Quite a new purchase for me, but this has made an impression! It is a really glowy, light reflecting foundation- a bit like YSL but with SPF for the day time. Light to medium coverage with a natural glowing finish. If you have good skin most of the time and like a luminous finish, this could be the one for you. Put it on with fingers and just touch up or layer with a brush so it isn’t cakey. It kind of makes you look a bit like you’ve been on holiday – that kind of glowy.  http://www.charlottetilbury.com/uk/shop-by-product/complexion/foundation.html

8. Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer. Shade: SX01. £36.50. This is my MOST extravagant foundation purchase ever. I’d read so much about it and so many bloggers had raved about it, I just couldn’t resist. I haven’t really had the chance to wear it for a few months to test it, but I have tried it on a few days. It is a really tiny little pot but the product is SO pigmented that you literally only need about a grain of rice to cover your face. I can’t quite decide whether I would use this as a concealer or a full-face foundation as it is quite drying. You’d need to moisturise well beforehand.  http://www.beautybay.com/cosmetics/kevynaucoin/thesensualskinenhancer?utm_source=google%2Bshopping&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=shopping%2Bfeed&selectedSku=KEAU0006F&ctyid=gb&mkwid=XRlHf3qt_dc&pcrid=55565209575&gclid=CIH6vJyJ9MQCFcHLtAodZHUA5A

That’s all folks!… If I was pushed to choose, I’d pick the Clarins Extra Comfort and the YSL for going out… and the Bobbi Brown for touch ups/down days … and the Laura Mercier for full coverage days … aaahhh I can’t chose!

20150411_194607

YSL/Clarins Everlasting/Lancome/Bobbi Brown/Clarins Extra Comfort/Laura Mercier/ Kevyn Aucoin/Charlotte Tilbury.

X

Leave a Reply

