Empties

Empties Post No. 1 …

Over the weeks and months, I use a lot of beauty products! I’ve been storing up my empty bottles/jars/pots and thought I’d do a little post with some mini reviews and my views on whether or not I’d repurchase them.

These products have all been purchased by myself (unless they were free samples with the purchase of something else).

image_3

Laughter Nuit (small size). 50ml is £45 from SpaceNK. I purchased this perfume with the Laughter Day fragrance in a set, with a Day and Night body lotion too. They were £10 in the SpaceNK January Sale 2014 (which is a really good value set). SpaceNK do some fabulous sale items -look out for them or sign up for the emails. I’ve got some real makeup/skincare/candle bargins.

This perfume is very musky – and whilst I really do like it – I prefer my other scents. It doesn’t last all that long, but it does pack a punch when you first spray it. It really isn’t a daytime scent at all – hence why it has taken me so long to use it up! I also think, for a non-designer perfume, it is a bit pricey.

REPURCHASE? No – I didn’t love it enough to fork out for the full price, but I would get the sale set again.

http://uk.spacenk.com/laughter-nuit-eau-de-toilette/MUK400000300.html

Avon Premier Luxe. £16 for 50ml. My mum gave me this because she didn’t like it and, to be honest, I didn’t have high expectations! However, I really like this! It’s quite heavy, but quite light. It does last for longer than the Laughter Nuit. It is much cheaper too. I used it as a day fragrance for work in the colder months – it isn’t really a very summery scent.

REPURCHASE? Yes – I’ll get some for the winter.

http://avonshop.co.uk/product/fragrance/perfume/premiere-luxe-for-her-eau-de-parfum-spray.html

image_5

Origins VitaZing SPF 15 Moisturiser – sample sachet. £29 for full size. This is the third sample I’ve used of this moisturiser. It is a bit like a tinted moisturiser (most similar to the Garnier Blur one that changes colour when you rub it in) in that it is white until you rub it in and then it adapts to your skintone. Now, I am white like a sheet, and this is a bit dark for me, even with a bit of sun.If you are a medium/mid-light tone you’ll probably get away with this, but I don’t think it is actually worth it. If you want something like this product – got with the Garnier one – which is a lot cheaper.

REPURCHASE? No – too dark for me. Too expensive for what it is. Not amazing enough!

http://www.origins.co.uk/product/3858/13004/Skincare/Category/Moisturisers/VitaZing/SPF-15-Energy-boosting-moisturizer-with-Mangosteen/index.tmpl

Elemis Pro-Collagen Cleansing Balm (sample size – part of a TSV on QVC) £31.50 full size. Now, I posted about this in my ‘used’ cleansers and I do really really like it. Lovely slip, removes all makeup, smells nice (kind of herby); I use this as a second cleanse after using TBS oil first. But … – although it is a luxury cleansing product – I just don’t like it enough compared to other balm cleansers I’ve used of a similar price (Oskia/Emma Hardie/MONU). It is also really pricey, and although I love spending money on skincare, I really can’t bring myself to spend money on products I don’t 100% love.

REPURCHASE? No – I prefer other balm cleansers.

Liz Earle Skin Tonic Spritzer. £6 for 30ml spritzer. I am not a huge LE fan, but I do love this. I love the smell and the cooling effects it has. I spray on top of make up, underneath, when skin needs a boost, in summer when it is hot, on planes, in winter when skin is dry and tight – anytime! I wouldn’t buy the bottle, only the spritzer (or I’d decant into the spritz).

REPURCHASE? Yes – although I already have another spritz in my handbag.

http://uk.lizearle.com/instant-boost-skin-tonic.html?gclid=CM2r-caG_sQCFQcYwwodJGgAGA&gclsrc=aw.ds

The Body Shop Vitamin E Toner (not shown as it was inside the LE spritz – I put that in when the LE ran out). £8.50 for the 200ml toner bottle that can be put in a spritz bottle (or used on a cotton pad), or you can buy the Vitamin E Facial Mist here http://www.thebodyshop.co.uk/shop-by-range/vitamin-e/vitamin-e-face-mist.aspx, also £8.50. I love both. For the same reasons: smells gorgeous, really hydrating, glycerin based, doesn’t interfere with makeup, really soothing.

REPURCHASE? Yes, without a doubt. I already have the Vitamin E toner, so I will be filling the empty LE back up with it.

Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm. £22 for 125ml. This is my absolute, favourite cleanser for taking makeup off: It is amazing. Buy it! It is totally unscented if that is an issue for you. No colouring. It looks like lard, which takes some getting used to, but it removes even the toughest makeup. It doesn’t leave any kind of residue and washes off with a warm flannel. You really cannot get better for the price.

REPURCHASE? YES! I wouldn’t ever be without it (and a few months ago, Clinique had real issues with stocking this beauty as it was so popular – so I’m not taking any chances!).

http://www.clinique.co.uk/product/1673/6424/Skin-Care/CleansersMakeup-Removers/Take-The-Day-Off-Cleansing-Balm

image_4

Alpha-H Liquid Gold – £33.50 for 100ml. This is a Glycolic acid toner that is quite strong (I wouldn’t recommend this for those with really sensitive skins –  get the First Aid Pads or the Pixi Glow Tonic). You put this on at night, after eye cream and you can follow with a moisturiser/serum if you want. I like it, but considering the press reaction/blog loving this has received, I don’t really ‘get’ it. It is no better than my Clarins or the FAB or Pixi – sorry. I tried to love it, but I don’t. And it is more expensive. And it smells kind of dodgy. I don’t think it transformed my face overnight.

REPURCHASE? No – much much prefer Clarins, Pixi Glow or FAB Pads to exfoliate my face.

http://www.beautybay.com/skincare/alphah/liquidgold/

Vichy Aqualia Serum £16.15. I love this serum – it is so hydrating and cooling. I use it morning and evening most days (I’m trying to eek out the last bit!). It felt really lovely on my sunburnt face the other weekend. Sinks in beautifully and doesn’t peel or roll under moisturiser or makeup. Love it.

http://www.escentual.com/vichy/vichyaqualia005/16.15

REPURCHASE? Yes, definitely – but I’m going to use the ALDI Lacura H20 serum first to see if that is similar.

Elemis Papaya Enzyme Peel (small size from a TSV from QVC). £32 for 50ml. I do like this, but again, this is aimed at severe anti-ageing, which I don’t really need yet, so this is probably wasted on me! It does plump up my face and it does feel beautifully smooth afterwards, but I don’t think it is really worth the huge price tag,to be honest. For a mask to be worthy of that price, it has to be amazing! (REN ones are very good and not quite as pricey).

REPURCHASE? I have another small size, but once I’ve used that I won’t repurchase (at least while I am under 40!)

http://www.lookfantastic.com/elemis-papaya-enzyme-peel-50ml/10365474.html

Lancome Hydra Zen Neurocalm Moistuiser (free sample when I purchased a Lancome mascara in Boots ages ago)£39.50. This day cream is meant to be for sensitive skin, but the scent is so heavy, I doubt sensitive skins would tolerate it. It is a very thick cream (which I don’t really like for the daytime) and was quite tricky to rub in to the skin – it kind of stayed on the surface for a while. I didn’t really like it – in fact, so much so, I didn’t really finish the tub – there is about 1/3 left in.

REPURCHASE? No – not a fan at all. Sorry Hydra Zen.

http://www.boots.com/en/Lancome-Hydra-Zen-Neurocalm-Moisturiser-Normal-Skin-50ml-For-All-Skin-Types-Even-Sensitive_36370/

image_6

Bourjois 1 Seconde Magic Nail Polish Remover – £4.99. This product made me put away the cotton pads and bottles of polish remover. It is filled with a sponge with a hole in it. You put your finger in, wiggle it about and voila – clean nail! It does take a bit longer than 1 second, but it is a lot easier than the cotton pad malarky. They’ve also just released one for toenails too – on a little sponge in the lid that you rub over toes. Perfect for travelling. The only downside is that you need a different one for glitter polishes as the glitter stays in there. The liquid is also quite drying, so you need a hand cream afterwards/or a cuticle oil/coconut oil. Smells like polish remover – but less harsh. Also smells a bit like vanilla/almonds.

REPURCHASE? Yes – I haven’t found an easier way to remove polish!

http://www.boots.com/en/Bourjois-Magic-Nail-Polish-Remover-75ml_1253870/

There we go – hopefully some of those were helpful to you! If you’ve got anything you think I should put on my ‘to try’ list – write it in the comments or on the FB page.

Thanks for reading 🙂

X

Leave a Reply

