Make Up

New make up …

So along with my bargain skincare purchases, I also got some new make up…. I couldn’t resist!

image(15)

L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper – £5.99. Shade: Medium/Dark (also comes in Light/Medium). This is almost a complete dupe for Benefit Gimme Brow (which is £13!); when my Benefit runs out, I’ll be purchasing this for the foreseeable future! It is a tinted brow gel mascara with fibers to enhance brows. My eye brows are mammoth (I pluck them about 3 times a week!) and although they are nice and dark, I am beginning to get some blonde hairs coming through and some gaps actually in the middle of the brow. This gel tints the blonde ones, thickens the gaps and generally keeps my wayward brow hairs in the right place! I also like to create an arch with this gel too (my brows are more of a curve) and it is really good at keeping the hair in the design I chose, whilst not making it look crispy and dry. It doesn’t flake during the day either. All in all – a fab product and a much cheaper dupe for the Benefit product!  http://www.boots.com/en/LOreal-Paris-Perfection-Brow-Artist-Plumper_1538996/

Collection Eyes Uncovered Palette in Nude Grey – £3.99. This little eye shadow palette is gorgeous! At just under 4 – you can’t really beat it. The colour payoff is decent – except the very lightest shade – (not as buttery as Urban Decay Naked Palettes or Stila palettes – but they are 36 and 26 respectively!) – there isn’t a lot of fall-out, and the shades are all wearable, day and night. If you’re looking for an eye shadow palette (or are lusting after the much pricier Naked Palettes) a one or two of these ones could be perfect. They come in three other shades: Nude, Nude Bronze, All About The Eyes; all are wearable nude/brown/grey shades in a mix of shimmer and mattes. Perfect for a natural daytime look or evening smokey eye. http://www.boots.com/en/Collection-Eyes-Uncovered-Palette-in-Nude-Grey_1668207/

image(18)image(16)

Swatch is the other way around – lightest on the right of my arm – you can see what I mean about the colour payoff. The others are really good though.

NB: Don’t use the brushes in these kits (even the Clarins/Bobbi Brown ones!) – you’ll never get a nice blended finish with the spongy brushes – you need a nice fluffy blending brush. 

image(17) image(19)

L’Oreal Colour Riche L’Ombre Pure Mono Eye Shadow – £5.49 (currently 3 for 2 in Boots). I’d read a lot about these little eye shadows online – they are quite the blogger favourite. I didn’t need any more nude/browny shadows, but these were gorgeous and the colour payoff was great – they are really pigmented. I have since worn them all day long and they have lasted well too (I use them on top of my NARS eyeshadow primer and Maybelline Colour Tattoos). I have layered them on top of each other and used the darkest shade as a liner. They look lovely blended together with a fluffy brush. http://www.boots.com/en/LOreal-Paris-Color-Riche-Mono-Eyeshadow_1471419/

Colours are:

Nude (this is the collection) 200 ‘Over the Taupe’ – a shimmery taupe/bronzey colour (far left in the left picture, bottom swatch on my arm)

Nude 206 ‘Little Beige Dress’ – a shimmery cream/beige colour (middle in the left picture, middle on my arm)

Lumiere 502 ‘Quartz Fume’ – a shimmery but creamy dark browny/taupe (far right in the left picture, top on my arm)

The swatch is one swipe – so you can see how pigmented the colour is. 206 would be really good on the inside corner of the eye and blended out – putting a really light colour on the inside corner really makes you look more awake!

X

Leave a Reply

