Make Up

Make up routine – step 5 – EYE SHADOW …

I feel like it was a lifetime ago that I posted part of the step-by-step make up routine! Grab yourself a cuppa – step 5 is a mammoth one!

Eye shadows are a never-ending realm of possibilities! I’ve got my choices below. I mostly use palettes and a few odd shades. A lot of the high-end eye shadow palettes are pricey – but (and I apologise for this!) they are better. They just are. And the palettes are an investment – well I think so anyway. Case in point: I purchased Urban Decay’s Naked Palette about 4 years ago and it is still going strong, I’ve got loads left and I probably use it the most out of all my palettes. If you pick something like UD Naked, you pretty much have every shade you’ll need (if you’re a neutral fan like me) – so cost wise, it is pretty decent value. Everyone needs an Urban Decay palette: if you’re just starting out and are looking to invest in a luxury palette, that is the one I’d start with. Without a doubt.

When I use powder eye shadows, I always use an eye primer – the one I’ve got at the moment is the NARS eye primer. It’s pretty good. Rimmel do a similar one that I’ve used as is decent too. The most famous (and best) is Urban Decay Primer Potion. I smear it on my eye lids with my fingers and wait a few minutes for it to set – then I go in with the shadows. I use a fluffier brush to apply the light shade all over the lid, then whatever other two or three shades I’m using, I’ll switch to a smaller fluffy brush or a traditional eye shadow brush (I’ll do another post in the near future about brushes etc.). I very rarely use just one shade on my eyes – I like to mix two/three/four most days – and with a palette it’s so easy to do that.

image(28)20150519_095432

20150519_09563520150519_09555620150519_095523

Urban Decay Naked 2 £38.00/ Urban Decay Naked £38.00 / Stila In the Light £25.00 / MAC Cool Neutrals £65.00 / Clarins The Essentials £35.00 / Smashbox Full Exposure ‎£37.00

20150519_08450120150519_084402image(35)

Smashbox Cherry Smoke £32.00 / Bobbi Brown Soho Chic (Limited Edition) / Clarins Garden Escape 2015 £32.00 / Collection Eyes Uncovered in Nude Grey £2.99

20150519_08424520150519_084150image(36)

Bobbi Brown Nude Eyes Palette (Limited Edition) / Charlotte Tilbury The Dolce Vita Palette £38.00 / NARS And God Created the Woman Palette £35.00 / Clarins Odessy Palette (Limited Edition)

20150519_085007 image(34)

Boots No.7 Stay Perfect Shade and Define Eye Pencil in Ray / Mink / Grey – £8.00 each (I buy these with the 5 pound vouchers! = £3 each! These don’t budge either – they really do stay all day!

Charlotte Tilbury Colour Chameleon Pencils in Bronzed Garnet / Amethyst Aphrodisiac £19.00 each (these are specific to green eyes, that I have. CT does a range of other pencils for other eye colours – they are designed to enhance your natural eye colour and make the colour more striking – they work!!)

20150519_085501 image(33)

Clarins Ombre Matte Eye Shadows – Aquatic Grey (Limited Edition Summer 2015) / Aquatic Rose (LE Summer 2015) / Sparkle Grey / Nude Pink / Earth – £19.00 each. Beautiful texture/formulation. Gorgeous colours. The Aquatic pair are stunningly beautiful. Earth is just the nicest, creamiest matte brown – quite a tough thing to find believe it or not!

image(30) image(29)

L’Oreal Paris Color Riche Mono Eyeshadow £5.49 each – Nude 200 / Lumiere 502 / Nude 206. Really pigmented, gel-feel shadows. I especailly love the 502 shade used with a wet brush along the lash line like an eye liner.

L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow £6.99 each – 014 Eternal Black and 001 Time Resist White (not in the first picture but it is swatched). These are SO difficult to get hold of! I’ve been searching for them all over (I don’t think they exist on the IOW!), so if you see them – grab them. They are a dupe for the Giorgio Armani Eyes To Kill Intense Eyeshadows which are £27.00 each! 

20150519_085216 20150519_085304

Maybelline Colour Tattoo 24Hr Cream Gel Eyeshadow – £4.99 each. On and On Bronze / Pink Gold / Permanent Taupe (matte). I’ve talked about these so much on here. These are the only shadows that I would use alone. A quick swipe with a finger or brush and you’re done! It is so easy. They are incredibly long lasting and are really creamy. Amazing for the price. There is a lot online that also says that these little pots are great dupes for the MAC Paintpots …

image(32) image(31)

Speaking of MAC Paintpots! …

MAC Pro Long Wear Paint Pot (Can’t find an online price apart from $18 which is about £12 according to Google!) in Antique Diamond / Mooncake. These are two I picked up at The Cosmetics Outlet Store at Gunwharf Quays, so I didn’t pay the price I’ve got here. These are long lasting, but the colours I have are very shimmery! The grey colour looks greenish in the picture, but it is more silvery on the lid. I like them – but I’m not crazy about them. They are quite hard to make work and I prefer the Maybelline Colour Tattoos.

Ok – that’s all folks! Phew – a mammoth, whistlestop tour of my eye shadow collection. I’m thinking of doing some more detailed posts on the bigger palettes in the near future, so look out for those.

Hope you enjoyed!

X

Leave a Reply

