Make Up

Make up routine – step 6 – MASCARA …

I could not live without mascara! There isn’t another beauty product that makes such a difference to a face. Even if I’ve got a full face of make up on (and forgotten mascara – it has happened!) my face still looks odd without it. There is just something about how long, thick, curled eye lashes frame the eyes perfectly and complete a look.

Anyway – I used to spend a lot of money on high end mascaras until, like with foundation, the high street upped the game!

I have one high end that I always go back to, and one high street that I’ll never be without again, but apart from that, I don’t really experiment with mascaras. From the pictures below you’ll see there are a lot of ‘mini’ mascaras – these are all free samples that I’ve received with purchasing different products. I like using the sample sizes as, unlike full sizes usually, I actually use them all up.

So, these are the ones I use and like:

20150519_102100 20150519_102420

L’Oreal Paris Miss Manga Waterproof Mascara – £8.99. I tried the non-waterproof of this and it was awful. The formula was totally different to this one – strangely. Anyway – this is my go-to mascara on holiday/weddings/any occasion I may cry (rare I know). Quite a strange brush – quite hard and rigid – not big a fluffy like I usually go for – but works really well at holding the curl (waterproof versions are always better at this) and not clumping. Really excellent budget buy. (Yes, I know £8.99 isn’t exactly budget, but it’s a budget as it gets!).

Lancome Hypnose Drama – Instant Full Body Volume Mascara – £22.50. This is my other mascara I’ll always have in my make up bag. It is pricey, but I love it! It curls beautifully, isn’t clumpy and the brush just feels like it is fanning the lashes beautifully. It is quite a ‘wet’ mascara, so I occasionally have to do a bit of a touch up job on my eyelid afterwards, but that’s fine with me. I like the result.

Estee Lauder Sumptuous Extreme Mascara £23.00 – I got this free with the Christmas Box last year. I’ve tried a few EL mascaras before and I wasn’t especially impressed – same again here. I like it, but I like the Lancome more. I didn’t feel like it held the curl as well and it took a long time to ‘set’ on my lashes.

Boots No.7 Midnight Lash Mascara £13.50 – This was sent to me by Boots to trial, test and review. My opinion is totally honest and I’ve not been paid to comment (either positive or negatively) on the product. I’ve purchased a number of No.7 mascaras over the years and my thoughts have varied a lot. I loved Lash Impact and Fanomenal Lashes but I hated Extravagant Volume – thought it was utter rubbish. Midnight Lash has been well used by myself over the last month and I like it. It holds the curl, doesn’t clump, the brush is usable and nicely shaped. My only slight complaint is that when I wore it for over 14 hours, it did start to flake a bit on to my cheek. But, to be fair, it doesn’t say that it is going to last for 14 hours! So, on the whole, I probably would buy it again (but I’d buy it with a No.7 voucher as I think the price is a bit steep). http://www.boots.com/en/No7-Midnight-Lash-Mascara_1543724/

20150519_101454 image(7)

Bobbi Brown Smokey Eye Mascara – £22.50 – I wouldn’t pay that for this. It’s ok, but nothing special. Bobbi Brown gives these samples away with everything – this is about the 5th one I’ve had! … a bit boring when they aren’t all that!

Clinique High Impact Mascara – £17.50  – I would pay that for this. This is a really fabulous mascara and it really does give high impact. Maybe when my Lancome Drama runs out, I’ll get the full size of this.

Origins Ginzing Mascara £17.50 – I do really like this. The brush is just the kind I like – huge and fluffy and really wide. I don’t love it as much as I did when I first got it – not sure why .

CHANTECAILLE Faux Cils Mascara £35.00 – Now, if you ignore the price, this mascara is AMAZING! It is just gorgeous. The brush is incredible at fanning and separating the lashes and coating them each individually. Would I pay £35.00 for a mascara? No I would not. And, unfortunately, this tube has dried out SO quickly, the £35.00 would be gone in about 2-3 months. Such a shame as this really is fabulous.

Lancome Hypnose Mascara £22.50 – This is the original formula that came out before the Drama one I mentioned above. Before Drama, this was my mascara of choice. But I like big, curly lashes and the Drama does that better. I still use this though and because it is a ‘wet’ formula like Drama, it lasts for ages.

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara £19.00 – I got this free with the Full Exposure Palette. It is almost identical to the Bobbi Brown Smokey Lash – and just as meh. I use it, but I don’t love it. I don’t really have any strong feelings about it at all!

Hope that was helpful!

X

Leave a Reply

