Make Up

A little MAC purchase …

I went on a (very good – for once!) course yesterday and was in London all day. This meant, as usual, that I planned my day in order to fit in a visit to SpaceNK and MAC … obviously.

So, after the course had finished, I made my way to Covent Garden. In SpaceNK I was good – nothing grabbed me – or rather I didn’t grab anything, so I came away a bit disappointed. Then, I went to MAC. Oops.

The MAC store is new-ish to Covent Garden and I couldn’t believe how many people and how much make up you could squeeze in to a TINY shop! Or how many sales assistants one shop needs. Anyway – I was quietly perusing the beautiful make up when I was asked if I wanted a make over. Er yes please! So, I was whisked away downstairs to meet Fabio – the genius who was going to make me look beau.ti.ful!

And he did. He asked me if there were any products I wanted to try in particular – I gave him my list! He obliged and before I knew it, I was staring at a new me. He really did know his stuff. Unfortunately, he knew it so well, and made me look so nice, I ended up leaving with three products… However, I did have restraint – I didn’t purchase the lipstick (a lovely matte brown taupe which I did not think would suit me, but he picked it out and it looked fab) – that is going to be purchased online at Debenhams (where MAC products are sometimes cheaper).

So, what did I buy? …

IMG_20150606_175105IMG_20150606_175219

MAC Studio Sculpt SPF15 Foundation in NW15

MAC Mineralize SkinFinish in Soft and Gentle

MAC Limited Edition Bronzing Powder in Refined Gold 

IMG_20150606_205247IMG_20150606_175359

Left Picture: Bronzer is at the top, Mineralize SF is the bottom.

Right Picture: Studio Sculpt Foundation; Mineralize SF; Bronzer

The best thing about buying from a MAC counter and having the products applied before you buy them, is that the artists can show you how to apply it. Fabio took about half an hour applying my make up and talked me through it – giving away his tips/tricks to a better look. I had a lovely contouring lesson with the bronzer (not in the manner of Kim Kardashian, but a nice subtle ‘me’ version) and my cheek bones appeared out of nowhere! I’d definitely recommend going to MAC if you can.

So, the products:

Bronzing Powder in Refined Gold – looks quite dark on the swatch above, but when used very lightly and blended to within an inch of it’s life, it is nowhere near as brown. The effect is that it makes my skin look ‘sunkissed’ and glowing -the hint of golden shimmer in the product really looks gorgeous on my pale, pasty skin. Fabio applied in the hollows of my cheeks (suck in like a fish and just touch the bronzer brush there, and blend out up your face in a line) and under my jaw line, on the sides of my nose and at my temples. He then applied on a huge fluffy brush, very lightly all over my face. So the product had two purposes – contouring colour and bronzer. Who doesn’t love a multi-use product?! I love it.

Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft & Gentle – I’ve had my eye on this for a while, ever since I dropped my Mary Loumanizer highlighter and it shattered. This is just beautiful; the swatch does not do it justice! It is a very shimmer golden, pinky, bronzey highlighter. Fabio applied to the tops of my cheeks (as a side – he did something clever with blush/highlighter by applying it higher up my face so that it slimmed down my face), just under my eye brow, down the centre of my nose and on the cupids bow (top lip). It gives a wonderful healthy glow. I won’t be without this now!

Studio Sculpt Foundation in NW15 – I have only tried this when he applied so I’ve not had a go with it yet myself. It is a full coverage foundation (billed as medium to full). It isn’t one for oily skins at all, but is fine for combination/dry/very dry. It isn’t a light feeling foundation – I mean, you know it is there – so if you don’t like that, this probably isn’t for you. Having said that, I really liked it and I’m not one for caking it on. I’ve had really bad skin flair ups at the moment, hence my need for a full coverage, so I’ll give this a whirl over the next week or so and see what happens, but I have high hopes!

I also got a lovely free mini mascara too – love freebies!

X

Leave a Reply

