Where I Buy My Stuff

Why I love TK Maxx …

Just before I went away in half term, I was wandering aimlessly around TK Maxx in Newport. I usually pop in there every now and again to have a look at the beauty stuff and home stuff.

I could not believe my eyes when I stumbled across this little beauty!

IMG_20150606_174944

(Don’t know why it is that way round!)

This is Stila In The Garden eyeshadow palette. 

This is the link to the palette from http://www.feelunique.com

http://www.feelunique.com/p/Stilla-In-the-Garden-Eye-Shadow-Palette?utm_source=GoogleBaseUK&utm_medium=gen&option=32745&aff=mrn&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=&utm_campaign=Google+Shopping+-+Suppliers_Other&mkwid=s9lj10h0z_dc&pcrid=51359794719&pkw=&pmt=&gclid=CNi2j9jw-8UCFSoEwwod4zAAYg

On that site, and on many others, this palette is £25.00! Now, here’s the thing: Stila palettes are AMAZING! I would pay £25.00 for a Stila palette. I have paid £25.00 for a Stila Palette – Stila In The Light is a palette that I own and one I have purchased for several people as presents. They quality of the eye shadows are amazing. For £25.00 you get 10 shades and an eye liner pencil (to compare, Urban Decay Naked palettes are around £38 and you get 12 shades). I think the quality of Stila shadows are the same, if not better, than the king of palettes – Urban Decay. The other thing I love about Stila palettes is that you get a little ‘looks’ booklet inside to tell you how to create lots of different looks. 

So, you can imagine my delight (there was a little bit of squeaking!) when I found this palette in TK Maxx! I hastily opened it to see if anyone had wrecked it with grubby fingers – but no! It was intact! I then looked at the price ….

It was £8.00!!!!!!!!!

I couldn’t believe it. I practically ran (ran?!) to the checkout. What a bargain. I was so shocked that I came home and googled it to check it wasn’t that price everywhere. It is still being sold for £25.00 everywhere else. (I think it has been in the Feel Unique sale at some point, but never down to £8! I was so surprised, that I rang (yes I am a saddo) TK Maxx to confirm that there isn’t any way that it could be fake. They assured me that it wasn’t and that everything beauty related came from well known companies and were categorically not fakes. 

Well … I think I might be stopping by TK Maxx more often!

The only problem with it, obviously, is that there are no guarantees with TK Maxx that you will find what you’re looking for. My rule with them is to buy it when you see it. For beauty products in TK Maxx – some of their stuff is far far too overpriced, but every now and then you get a gem, like the Stila palette. I’m still excited looking at it now!

 IMG_20150606_175543

IMG_20150606_175821 IMG_20150606_175909

Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in Starfish – a kind of greeny/grey

Colours from left to right: Bark – bronzey brown; Moss – brown with gold shimmer; Freesia – blue with black shimmer; Rosette – cranberry shimmer; Juniper – dark green shimmer; Starfish Eye Liner; Sage- light green shimmer; Breeze – warm taupe shimmer; Honey – golden shimmer; Chinois (can’t see very well on the swatch) – pale satin cream; Nectar – pale beige with faint gold shimmer.

All in all – a beautiful palette for an amazing price. My advice? Keep popping in to TK Maxx – you never know what you might find!

X

Leave a Reply

