Make Up · Skincare

New products – Part One …

So, clearly since I’ve not written anything since June, there have been a fair few purchases/products acquired over the 5 months – mostly over the summer. Some of these purchases I’ve already been using, some I haven’t got around to yet. If I’ve tried them, I’ll give a little ‘mini review’ on them.

  1. Charlotte Tilbury & Norman Parkinson – Colour of Youth Lip & Cheek Colour £40.00 

This was one of those purchases that I just had to have; just look at that packaging (yes, I am that fickle)! Norman Parkinson was a renowned portrait and fashion photographer who worked during 1930’s-1990’s, with some of the most amazing models, including Audrey Hepburn and Sophia Loren. The collaboration with Charlotte Tilbury – amazing makeup artist to the stars – sold out within a few weeks when it first came out. I had my eye on the gorgeous lip and cheek colour because of the gorgeous packaging (stunning rose gold) and the beautiful colour of the product. The model on the compact is Wenda Parkinson, Norman’s beautiful wife – the image is a photograph he shot on location in Tobago. I wasn’t going to use this, just keep it as it is going to be a collectors item I’m sure – but I just couldn’t not! The colour gives a gorgeous flush to the skin – I only use it on the cheeks. It is a cream blush and I apply with fingers or a Real Techniques Stippling Brush. Definitely one of, if not my favourite of all my blushes.IMG_20151110_135558 IMG_20151110_135705

 

2. Nail products: 

Cutex Nourishing Nail Polish Remover – £1.60 http://www.boots.com

I used to be a massive fan of the Bourjois pink pot of nail polish remover (can’t remember the official name), but I noticed that it was very drying and my cuticles were literally peeling off. Since I’ve switched to this – no problems. Cheap as chips, smells ok and does the job; this is my third bottle.

*****All make up/beauty products/nail polish etc. is 3 for 2 in Boots at the moment by the way****

Rimmel Salon Pro by Kate Nail Polish in 104 Saturn £4.49 http://www.boots.com

No7 Gel Look Shine Nail Polish in Deep Wine £7.00 http://www.boots.com

Barry M Gelly High Shine Nail Paint in 523 Blackberry (I think this should be called Blueberry – not really a ‘blackberry’ colour is it?!) £3.99 http://www.boots.com

Nail polish isn’t something I faff about with too much. I never spend more than the price in Boots (with two exceptions in my life – and totally worth it!). In my honest opinion, £7 is too expensive for a No7 nail polish (unless purchased with one of those  £5 vouchers) – Barry M’s price is much better. Having said that, I love the formula of the No7 Gel Look nail polishes – they last for ages without chipping, are smooth to apply and with two coats you’re done (incidentally, it says you only need one coat, but I always apply two – followed by a gel topcoat by Revlon). For price vs. quality, you cannot beat Barry M nail paint – but I only rate the Gelly Shine formula. As for the Rimmel, I’ve not tried that yet – it is more of a Christmasy shade – but from the swatch it looks like 2+ coats are needed.

(middle photo is one coat – hurriedly applied – right photo is two coats)

IMG_20151110_140428IMG_20151110_140611IMG_20151110_140714

 

3. Soap and Glory One Heck of a Blot Instant Perfecting Power Primer £10.00 http://www.boots.com

Apparently, this primer is ‘the secret to perfect, shine-free skin’ (according to S&G). This stuff is all about controlling shine and oil – not really problems I have at this time of year. Come the warmer weather this will be in my makeup bag constantly I think. The reason I picked it up was because a) I’d read great reviews about it – literally loads. b) I love the S&G One Heck of a Blot powder. c) I like my primers to not be too silicone based (I cannot stand the Benefit Porefessional – eurgh!) and this is much more like a serum/cream – not slippy to touch. Needless to say I’m looking forward to testing this out.

4. NYX Conceal Correct Contour Palette £10.00 http://www.feelunique.com/p/NYX-Conceal-Correct-Contour-Palette-15g

I got this on a bit of a whim. I’d been watching YouTube videos on makeup application back in the summer (LoeyLane and Learningtobefearless) and one of the girls used a MAC pro palette (she works as an artist for MAC) to colour correct. I subsequently searched high and low for the said MAC palette – but they are only sold in the USA. I then read that someone had got this one from NYX instead, and it was on offer on feelunique – so I got it. I need to watch a few more YouTube videos before I try it out, but I think I’ll probably use the yellow/peach/light shades for colour correcting more than the dark contour shade – I’m not that fussed about massive Kim Kardashian contouring. It is a cream palette, so fingers/stippling brush will be used I imagine. NYX are loved by bloggers the world over (you can get NYX in Boots, but not on the Isle of Wight) – feelunique is the best bet.

IMG_20151110_135450~2

 

5. Maybelline Lash Sensational Lash Multiplying Mascara £7.99 http://www.boots.com/

Did I need another mascara? No, I did not. Am I glad I bought it? Yes. It is good. Good brush, good curl, good staying power, no flaking and a good price. I’ve said before, I rarely buy anything other than high street/drugstore (for the few American readers!) mascaras (the exception is Lancome Hypnose Mascara which is the only high end one that I adore and have purchased several times): they go off too quickly; some are complete rubbish; I don’t want to be spending tons on them and you should ditch them after 6 months (so the beauty industry says – hmm) but I tend to hang on to mine for a year or so.

6. Charlotte Tilbury Colour Chameleon Colour Morphing Eyeshadow Pencil for Green Eyes £19.00 each

Nearest the mascara is Bronzed Garnet (for green eyes daytime – far right in the swatch) – the other is Amethyst Aphrodisiac (for green eyes night – second in from the right). What I love about these is that they are tailored colours to eye colour. The Amethyst colour is the one I wear for weddings/nights out etc. – it really does make my green (grey) eyes pop. I love love love these pencils – if you’ve got some spare cash – splurge on these for your eye colour: there are two for each colour. The pencils are soft, easy to blend, easy to sharpen and stay all day. I wore these to my brothers wedding and applied at 9am – they were still in place at midnight.

7. Maybelline EyeStudio Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Eyeshadow in Metallic Pomegranate – ‎£4.99 http://www.boots.com

Another Colour Tattoo to add to my collection. These are the best, easiest eyeshadow for work/daytime. I literally smear them on at the start of the day and they stay in place all day. I don’t blend, just tend to use on colour. They are an amazing dupe for MAC Longwear Paint Pots (which are 4x the price!). This colour is a berry/bronzy colour – third from the left in the swatch.

8. Charlotte Tilbury Eyes to Mesmerise Long-Lasting Easy Cream Eyeshadow in Marie Antoinette – £22.00

This little pot of golden loveliness is like a more expensive, revved up version of the Colour Tattoo above. The gorgeous cream eyeshadow is so so creamy – I apply with a brush and then blend with fingers. I usually use this as a base for something else – nude/brown eyeshadow to sit on top. It is lovely – very creamy and long lasting again. I’m having a bit of a CT moment – as you can probably tell; there are loads of things I need want! Swatch is third from the right.

IMG_20151110_135923IMG_20151110_140232

IMG_20151110_140112

 

9. Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balm in Fiery £7.99 http://www.boots.com (included in the 3 for 2)

I got both of these lip pencils about a month ago and have only been playing with them today and I love them both for different reasons. The Revlon Matte Balm is really buttery and soft – much more lip balm-like with a stain-like wash of colour. Not remotely drying, even though it is matte. Berry lips are perfect for autumn and this colour is very wearable – even for a pale ghostly-skinned girl like me! Swatch is far left.

10. Maybelline Colour Drama Lip Pencil in Berry Much £4.99 http://www.boots.com (included in the 3 for 2)

This is a little gem! I was toying with purchasing a Bobbi Brown Art Stick or a Velvet Matte Lip Pencil by NARS but I didn’t want to buy a duff colour and it cost a bomb and be a waste of money. Then I came across these – and I LOVE them! the colour is amazing – it is matte so you need a bit of lip balm underneath, but boy does the colour last. They are soft and easy to apply and for £4.99 they are an absolute bargin! (BB and NARS are £20+). Berry Much is a gorgeous, deep, sultry berry colour – perfect for winter. Go and buy one! Swatch is second from the left.

 

Phew. That took ages to write. It’s now the middle of the night pretty much. I’m off to attempt sleep – I may be back….

X

Leave a Reply

