Make Up

Makeup of the day …

So on Wednesday I ventured out. Out and about to the shops: it had to be done. Christmas is still on the way – even if I’m not ready and willing for it to arrive. I love Christmas shopping usually, but this year, under the circumstances, my usual joy has, unsurprisingly, vanished. However, I do still have an almost-4-year-old to buy for and who’s birthday is also rapidly approaching next week, so the shops it had to be. Life goes on don’t they say? … whether I want it to or not…

When I woke up on Wednesday I looked bloody awful. I’d had about 4 hours sleep (eventually dropped off at 3:45am. N.B: If anyone has any tips/advice on helping me sleep, please leave in the comments! I’m usually a 10 hour girl, so I’m seriously struggling right now) and looked like death warmed up. The only way I was going to look presentable was makeup and to be honest, I needed that ‘mask’ element of it to go out and face the world – something to ‘hide’ behind. It has to be said that after putting on a full face, I definitely looked better and I did feel a bit more ready to be out and about – the power of makeup eh!?…

So here is what I slapped on – with a few lines about the products …

20151119_144747

Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream in 51 £9.99 (Boots) – I’ve spoken about this before and I still feel the same; this is such a good highstreet/drugstore foundation. CC means colour correct and it does a really good job. It blends well – I dot on the face with fingers and then blend with a beauty blender. Considering the coverage, without it being cakey, combined with the bargain price, this is a complete winner.

Seventeen Phwoarr Paint in Fair £5.49 (Boots) – As it says, perfect for covering those annoying, draining, dark under-eye circles (of which mine are terrible right now). I show my tiredness under my eyes, so this thick but blendable concealer is excellent. I don’t use it anywhere else but under eyes. Pat on with fingers. Again, a bargain and much cheaper than similar products from Bobbi Brown and Laura Mercier (which are £20+)

Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat £19.95(allbeauty.com) – This is a cult beauty product and has been for years; it is YSL’s most popular product. This is my third tube of this stuff and it is good … but I think you can get just as good on the high street (L’Oreal Lumi Magique Concealer £8.49 is one I’ve used and loved). I put this on top of the Phwoarr Paint and pat in – up to the cheek bones.

Origins Plantscription Anti-Ageing Concealer in Light £17.50 (feelunique.com) – I normally use this on my under eyes (it is similar to the YSL Touche Eclat) but today I used it dabbed on my red blemish scars and around my nose and mouth – and it worked pretty well. I was pleased with the result. Again, a good product, but to be honest the amazing (and much loved/talked about) Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer (£4.19) is just as good; save your money and buy that one.

Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Finish Powder in 01 £33.00 (charlottetilbury.com) – Now, I know this is an expensive face powder, but hand on heart, this is the best powder I have ever tried. It really does give the airbrushed look – it somehow blurs imperfections and just makes my skin look glowy. I tried to think of a budget dupe, but I couldn’t … sorry.

Bourjois Delice de Poudre Bronzing Powder in Light £7.99 (Boots) – This is such a good buy. Very rarely do you get a highstreet bronzer that isn’t shimmer-city! This isn’t matte, but it almost is and – for the price – that is good enough for me! It smells like chocolate too – lovely. I don’t use this for contouring, but for warming up my complexion. I get a big fluffy brush and swirl it, lightly, all over my face. 

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle £24.00 (John Lewis, HofF, Debenhams) – I got this from the MAC shop in Covent Garden, but the stores listed usually have some offers on which make it cheaper. Anyway, this is a gorgeous, luminous highlighter. It is quite intense, so you only need a tiny bit; this will last me for years and years. I get a smaller brush and gently put some of the highlighter on the brow bone (just under brows), down the centre of my nose, on my cupids bow (the dip on the top lip) and a little bit on the very top of my cheek bones (not the apples). The result is glowy, gorgeous skin; well worth the money.

20151119_145213

Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Metallic Pomegranate £4.99 (Boots) – This is a gorgeous, easy-to-wear shade – I think it is a bit cranberry-like rather than pomegranate. I just apply with fingers and then blend out the edges with a soft brush. It is rare that I apply just one shade, but with these eye shadows you can – they look good and last for ages. They are similar to MAC Paintpots (which are much more expensive) and are a bargain for the quality.

Maybelline Lash Sensation Lash Multiplying Mascara in Black ‎£7.99 (Boots) – Even though this is quite new, I love it. For a reasonable price, this product easily out-performs many of the high-end mascaras that are at least three times the price; Maybelline really know how to make mascara. I normally curl my eyelashes before applying mascara, but in the (rather scary) close-up below, I didn’t bother, but the curl is there and it held all day which is very impressive.

20151118_093044

Bourjois Cream Blush in 04 Sweet Cherry £7.99 (Boots) –  This is another little high-street gem. These blushes are amazing quality and well worth the price. I own several cream blushes from some quite high-end brands (Bobbi Brown, Stila, Charlotte Tilbury, The Balm) and these compare very favourably – especially when you consider the price. I apply with fingers or a stippling brush and blend out (I usually apply all blush products to my hand first, and then my face – to avoid a massive amount of product on my cheek: it is easier to build it than take it away).

Revlon Colour Burst Matte Balm in Fiery £7.99 (Boots) – This again, is quite a new purchase but I’m liking it already. It is really moisturising – which is unusual for a matte lip product as they tend to be quite drying. The colour is a berry shade which is perfect for this time of year. It does give a good stain too, so I only apply it once and then just applied Clarins Comfort Oil during the day when I was out – the colour held for a good 5/6 hours with a gentle, un-patchy fade. Great price for good quality product that is as moisturising as a regular lip balm; loads of great wearable shades to pick from too.

20151119_145324

Swatches – top to bottom: Bourjois bronzer; MAC Mineralize Skinfinish; Bourjois Cream Blush; Maybelline Colour Tattoo; Revlon Matte Balm.

And that is all I wore to face the world again. I was quite pleased with the result for my first foray back in to the world of makeup, since June time! There are some real gems from the high-street in this post – and I *think* the 3 for 2 on makeup is still on in Boots too. I wouldn’t bother repurchasing the Origins concealer or YSL Touche Eclat – the high street do better/just as good. So, apart from the MAC Skinfinish and the Charlotte Tilbury powder, this is effectively a high street/drugstore makeup of the day!

X

 

Leave a Reply

