Haircare · Make Up · Nails

Slightly more recent purchases …

The other post that I did a few weeks ago was a whole load of products that were new-ish as I hadn’t blogged since June, but today I have a little collection that is much more recent. As with all new purchase posts, some of these products I haven’t used yet, some I have.

20151119_145710

  1. Zoeva 129 Luxe Fan Brush £9.50 (www.beautybay.com) – I got this on a bit of a whim. I was looking for a highlighter brush as I wasn’t especially happy with using the same brush for highlighter/bronzer as I was currently doing. I saw quite a few bloggers on YouTube using a fan brush like this (of the much more expensive varieties of course!) and I thought I’d have a hunt around for a similar one. I’ve used it about three times now and I like it – it fits the big ‘C’ curve around the eye/upper cheeks well, doesn’t shed bristles and feels lovely a soft. I have a lot of Zoeva brushes and they are very very good value for money (MAC brushes, which I refuse to buy, are at least £20 per brush – the famous 217 is quite a bit more than that).
  2. The Wet Brush £9.59 (www.beautybay.com) – Now, I am, and have been, incredibly loyal to my Tangle Teezer for years – we have at least three of them floating around our house and we all use them. I then discovered The Wet Brush – which is bad news for the little old Tangle Teezer … This brush is excellent. It has ‘soft tips’ that really seem to make light work of tangled hair. My daughter has really long hair that gets easily knotty – as do I. This brush, designed to be used on wet and dry hair without damaging it, doesn’t tug or pull – just glides. Also, as it has a handle, it is MUCH easier to hold than the TT! I’ll still use the TT, but this brush is now taking pride of place. Definitely recommended – especially if you have little kids with knotty hair!
  3. OPI Cosmo With A Twist nail polish £8.75 (www.beautybay.com) – Having spoken about my love of budget, high street nail polishes, this was a little ‘I must have that colour’ moment: Cosmo With A Twist is a stunning polish. It is supposed to replicate the night sky, complete with sparkling stars; not sure about that, but it is a gorgeous colour and quite unique. I’ve worn it once and lasting power was very good with all my usual routine and gel top coat – 5 days without chips. The other thing I love about OPI is that all their polishes are Toluene and Formaldehyde free – nasty chemicals that you’d rather were not on your nails. Two coats and this is good to go. Stunning colour. 20151119_150048
  4. Zoeva Cocoa Blend Eyeshadow Palette £15.50 (www.beautybay.com) – This is an amazing palette. If you really want a fantastic quality product, but don’t want to pay Urban Decay or Clarins’ prices, then Zoeva is for you! There are lots of different ones to chose from on BB (Rose Golden, Naturally Yours, En Taupe, Smokey, Rodeo Belle, Love Is A Story and Retro Future) – there really is something for everyone; Rose Golden is next on my list! The pigmentation rivals MAC – the shades blend beautifully and are buttery and soft. I cannot rave about this enough! For the price (Urban Decay’s Naked palettes are £38 each), you cannot get any better. This particular palette is based around chocolate and cocoa – the names are all related to this theme. The photo isn’t very clear but there are three matte shades (top row far left ‘Bitter Start’, top row far right ‘Beans are White’ and bottom row middle ‘Freshly Toasted’) and the rest are shimmery or glitter. My personal favourites are: Warm Notes, the middle shade on the top row (very similar to MAC Cranberry); Sweeter End, the second from the left top row; Delicate Acidity, bottom row far right). All can work well together and a whole host of different looks can be created – perfect for day or evening. This is the perfect starter palette for those who don’t own one but want to and don’t want to break the bank.

    20151119_145951

  5. Dr Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips £10.80 (www.beautybay.com) – This has been on my radar for a while. Originally designed for nursing mothers for nipples, this then made its way to the catwalks to tame flyaway eyebrows, dry patches and smooth over lipstick to give shine. I use it as a lip balm mainly – at night as it is quite thick and sticky; you wouldn’t wear this on a windy day or hair would be stuck across your face. It has worked well and my lips are smooth and soft where they were dry and peeling due to the change of weather. The tube this comes in is tiny however you do only need a little bit – but it is a bugger to get out of the tube as it is so thick – it needs a bit of warming in the hands first. Good value and good quality. 20151119_150519
  6. Batiste Nourish and Enrich Dry Shampoo £1.98 (Superdrug) – I always make sure I have some dry shampoo in a drawer somewhere. I’ve said that I only wash my hair once, maybe twice a week, so this product ensures that that last day before the wash again, is greasy free and smells nice. Yes, I shower or bath daily, but my hair is SO thick I cannot wash it every day. You shouldn’t wash hair every day either as it strips the hair of natural oils (same with the face – if you take the oils out, hair/skin ‘ups’ the oil production = greasy hair/face). I used to have mega oily, greasy hair and I used to wash it every other day. Since changing to once a week, it is much much more balanced. Try it! Anyway – I normally use COLAB dry shampoo as it is amazing (created by beauty blogger/model Ruth Crilly from http://www.amodelrecommends.com) but they were all out, so I plumped for this instead. A hair drawer staple.
  7. Max Factor Masterpiece Mascara in Black £9.99 (Boots) – Part of a 3 for 2 deal, I wanted to try this as Lisa Eldridge (celebrity make up artist) swears by Max Factor mascaras. I used to use the False Lash Effect years and years ago and it was good, but I am fickle and like to chop and change. I didn’t need a new one as I am still loving the Maybelline Sensational Mascara featured in a post the other day, but a girl can never have too many mascaras right? … I’ve used this twice and it is good – I need to play around with it a bit more before I give my full views.
  8. Essie Multi Dimensional Topcoat in Stroke of Brilliance £7.99 (Boots) – This was just too pretty to walk past! In all honesty, I bought this for my daughter as I knew she’d love it. It is the kind of polish I would wear, but at Christmas. It’s marketed as a top coat, but I would wear this on its own, but it is probably much more effective over a darker colour. The little bits of sparkle/confetti type glitter are silvery/blue colour – very pretty. 20151119_150913(OPI top, L’Oreal Black Diamond middle, Essie Stroke of Brilliance bottom – all two coats)
  9. L’Oreal Colour Riche nail polish in 840 Black Diamond £4.99 (Boots) – This line of nail polishes from L’Oreal are being discontinued apparently, so if you want this colour, snap it up! I used these polishes when they first came out and was SO disappointed – they were complete rubbish and didn’t last more than a day; I have avoided them ever since. This colour was calling out to me thoug: black polish with gorgeous silver glitter. The formula is much much better (don’t know whether it has been improved or I had a dud few years ago) – two coats was all I needed for it to be deep and beautiful.
  10. Max Factor Excess Shimmer Eyeshadow in 20 Copper £7.99 (Boots) – I was so excited when I saw this beautiful little pot of loveliness! Having swatched this and had a little play, this formula is quite similar to the Charlotte Tilbury cream eyeshadow that I featured in a blog post a few weeks ago – with tons more shimmer and for a fraction of the price. I don’t know about the staying power of this as I’ve not tested it all day, but it is gorgeous with a good shade range. I saw it on offer in Tesco’s today. If you like the cream shadow formula and you like shimmer, this would be perfect for you! 20151119_150608

So, there were my new purchases over the last week or so – all made from the comfort of my sofa (thank goodness for online shopping and home delivery) – except for the Batiste where I did venture in to Superdrug.

Not sure what’s coming soon … maybe some lovely cheap body products!?

X

Leave a Reply

