Make Up · Monthly Favourites · Skincare

November Favourites …

So it is favourites time again and I have a little collection of stuff that I’ve been really liking this month. There are a mix of new products and things I’ve rediscovered my the depths of my beauty stash.

It has been a tough old month – and the blog/having a focus has been a lifesaver. Some days have been bearable/ok and others have been damn awful. I have spent quite a few days in my pyjamas under a duvet – meaning I’ve not even bothered washing my face, let alone make up. I know, pretty disgusting – thankfully my skin hasn’t made me pay for these days. However, on the few days I have left the house (Christmas shopping/birthday shopping/general food shopping still needs to be done whether I want to do it or not), these skincare/make up products have been featuring quite heavily.

20151127_152007

Sanctuary Spa Luxury Bath Float £10.00 (Boots) – This is in my favourites because it smells gorgeous! I love the original Santuary Spa scent. This bubble bath is pricey, but it lasts for ages and really ‘bubbles up’ well; it does contain SLS which is where the bubbles come from, but as I’ve said before, I don’t worry about SLS on my body (Don’t ever use it on your face or your babies/ young kids – it is THE worst thing for dry skin!). I’ve had this for about a year (I wasn’t allowed to have a bath when pregnant (May-Oct) so didn’t use it during that time) so it has lasted well. Being able to have a bath again has been a totally mixed emotional experience – the first time I had a bath in the last month I just balled my eyes out sitting in the bath: I didn’t want to be ‘allowed’ to have one! Anyway – I love a bath, and this product is really lush and very relaxing. I like a more luxe bubble bath every now and then.

Soap & Glory Whipped Clean Luxe Shower Butter ‎£7.00 (Boots) – Whilst not being allowed to have a bath, I have of course still been showering! Thank god. This is a gorgeous, buttery, creamy, beautifully scented product. I have about four shower products on the go at once and I’ve been reaching for this the most this month – maybe because it has got a bit colder and this is sooo creamy and luxurious. It smells of almonds which I love, but it is quite strong so some might not like that. It comes out like a really thick cream (like a hair conditioner) but once it is rubbed over the body (or sometimes I use one of those puffy things) it lathers up brilliantly. It leaves skin slightly scented and soft. It is also amazing for shaving legs!

20151127_152444

Wet Brush £8.00 *cheaper price since the other post!*(www.lookfantastic.com) – This was in a recent new purchase post and my god do I love this brush! It is just amazing and I am in total love. It really really does an amazing job of getting through the tangles/matted felt on the underside of my hair. I’ve been using this on Elsie’s hair, wet and dry – no tears or yelling from her so I’m taking that as a positive! The bristles are soft enough to use on wet hair (I guess that’s the point of calling it a ‘wet brush’ right?!) without breaking the hair. I will not be without this now and am going to purchase a back-up (or three).

Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Concentrated Hand Cream ‎£2.46 (Boots) – After the ridiculous Clarins Hand Cream annoyance, I turned to this product to save me! And it worked! Hence the favourites. It is thick, moisturising, sinks in well and isn’t overly scented. It is just a good quality, reliable, budget hand cream and I will not turn my back on it for higher priced rivals, ever again!

Boots Botanics Hydration Burst Dual Action Cleanser £2.99 (Boots) – I’ve spoken about this before and I still stand by my initial comments about how good this stuff is! There are no nasties in here and the price cannot be quibbled with! It is a really thick, balm-type cleanser that takes a bit of work when you massage it on to dry skin; I then add a little bit of water to emulsify it and then was off with a warm flannel. I use this either for an AM cleanse or as a first and/or second cleanse in the PM. If you want a balm cleanser but don’t want to spend a lot the check this out.

Charlotte Tilbury Multi Miracle Glow Cleanser, Mask & Balm £45.00 (Charlotte Tilbury or Selfridges) – This is a pricey pricey cleanser. Like many beauty products, it was an itch I had to scratch. I love the smell of this cleanser and although it is a multi-use product, I’ve only used it as a cleanser, not a balm or mask. It has a cool, gel texture. It does remove make-up, but I always use this as a second cleanse – it is a luxurious product and I don’t want to waste it taking off make up, I’d rather use it for the second cleanse where I do more of the facial massage and wallow in the nice smell! It does make my skin feel amazing afterwards – so so soft and hydrated. Gorgeous (pricey) stuff!

20151127_152357

Radical Perfection Fluid (sample size) £60 (uk.spacenk.com) – This was a sample I got from somewhere with a purchase. I like trying out the samples sizes – such a good way to discover new products. This is a gorgeous day moisturiser. It is so so light and sinks in straight away. Smells lovely and makes my skin feel SO smooth. I was a bit gutted when I did some research and discovered it is £60 for the full size 😦 I dunno – maybe I will – maybe I won’t. This would be a perfect summer moisturiser; I might reconsider it in the spring. I think the cooler the weather gets, the more moisture I’m going to need so this might not be enough. But for the mo, this is gorgeous and I’ve almost finished it up. And somehow, it really is perfecting – my skin does look smoother and more healthy! Magic!

Caudalie Lip Conditioner £5.20 (escentual.com) – This is awesome stuff. I’ve been using this just before bed and throughout the day. I’ve worn my MAC Matte taupe lipstick quite a bit (and the Matte Bourjois lipstick below) and they show up dry bits – this has been getting rid of those with ease. It is completely free of nasties and really moisurising as well as being pretty cheap. I love it!

Avene Cicalfate Repair Cream £7.50 (Boots) – This, along with the Avene Skin Recovery Cream, are my go-to for any kind of major skin meltdown: bad spots, grazes, cuts, burns etc. The burn thing is what happened a few weeks ago – I caught my arm on the door of the log burner and I didn’t really notice at the time, but a few days later a few patches of lovely bubbly, burnt skin erupted. Nice. So I slathered on the Cicalfate (which has zinc in it for healing) every day/night and the burn really did heal so much quicker. I use this on Els when she gets a cut/graze on knees, and on Steve when he gets carpenter injuries (which is every day pretty much!).

No7 Youthful Eye Serum £19.50 (Boots) – This was a sample sent to me by Boots (thank you Boots!) and I’ve been using it religiously morning and evening for about three weeks now. There was a bit of confusion I mentioned previously about whether this was an eye cream or eye serum – I’ve only been using this, so I’m going to call it an eye cream. It is in my favourites because I love it! As another blogger said when she reviewed it, this stuff if goooood. I really think it has made the little lines around my eyes, smaller. I am very skeptical about eye creams and their claims, but I can see a difference. I’ve not noticed any difference with dark circles/bags, but the lines are without a doubt, much better. I’m only 32, so I don’t have massive deep-set wrinkles (yet) but I do have the beginning of crows feet/laughter lines – and I think they have got less noticeable. So, I will continue with this product and do a full review once the tube is empty, but for now it is a definite love. £19.50 is quite pricey for some, but for a good quality, decent eye cream that actually does something that is visibly noticeable, the price isn’t bad at all. And if you can hold out until another No7 voucher event (the current one ends on 30th Nov) then you can get £5 off and that is definitely worth it.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation in 51 £7.35 (feelunique.com) or £10.99 (Boots) – I have dragged this out of my foundation box and been using this for the last few weeks. It is an oldie but a goodie. Decent priced foundation that, quality-wise, is on a par with the higher end foundations. If you Google it, lots of bloggers compare this formula to Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk and I’ve read some who say it is similar to Chanel foundations – if that is true I love a good dupe! I just love it because it is moisturising, easy to blend, stays in place all day, doesn’t oxidise (go orange on the skin after some time) and doesn’t cling to dry patches that I have around my nose and mouth. Colour match is good, but this is the palest shade. I blend it with a brush or a Beauty Blender. Definitely a recommendation if you want a new high street foundation.

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Soft Colour Mono Blush in Santa Rose £1.99 (ASOS.com) or £3.99 (Boots) – Longest name for a blusher ever …. Boy is this product a cult/blogger favourite! This has SO much love online for such a cheap, simple blusher. £1.99 for a blusher that is completely raved about is insane! This is the most beautiful, subtle blusher I own. I’ve had this for about 5 years and I always use it when I want a tiny flush of natural colour; it is stunning. The swatch in the photo above was achieved with me really rubbing my finger in the product and pressing really hard on to my skin – this is not the normal amount of pressure I use. This blush is designed to be natural and therefore it isn’t massively pigmented – but that is ok – that is what we want with it! If you’re someone who wants to wear blusher but is a bit scared of putting too much on – this is for you. I apply with a Real Techniques Blush Brush to the high cheek bones (not the round apples). Don’t be put off by the crap, cheap packaging – this rose-gold colour is a gem from Rimmel – everyone should have this in their collection!

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Matte Lipstick in Plum Plum Girl 14 ‎£8.99 (Boots) – This is the fourth or fifth of this formula that I own and I love them. The matte ones are best as they are the most long lasting. This really does last a good 5/6 hours without budging – including eating/drinking etc. The colour is a gorgeous blue-toned plum colour (blue toned = pinky, not browny) – perfect for autumn/winter when I roll out the berry shades. Apart from MAC Matte Taupe, this has been the only other thing on my lips if I’ve left the house. It is a tad drying, so a bit of time with the lip balm before and after is needed, but other than that, I absolutely love it!

20151127_152524

Shearer Candle Vanilla & Coconut £4.00 (amazon.co.uk)- This was kindly given to me for my birthday and I love it. I’d never heard of this brand before and I’m always on the look out for new, decent candle brands with good scents that don’t make me want to vomit (most Yankee Candles!) or are going to break the bank (Yankee Candles, Neom, Jo Malone). I couldn’t believe how long it took for this to reach the bottom and how much the scent permeated the whole house. I bloody love coconut and this was perfect and for an amazing price! I thoroughly recommend this brand and I’m going to be on the hunt for some more of their scents without a doubt!

Okey doke – that’s your lot for tonight (unless I can’t sleep, in which case I’ll be back to do budget body products!). Hope you enjoyed my favourites!

X

Leave a Reply

