Budget · Make Up · Skincare

Brand Focus: L’Oreal

More of a purse-friendly brand focus this time – L’Oreal: the world’s largest cosmetics company founded in 1909. It has to be said that L’Oreal is a bit of a superpower in the beauty/cosmetics world! I’m pretty sure that every person reading this owns something by L’Oreal. The company owns/produces/finances a whole host of other well-known brands, such as: Lancome, YSL, Armani, Kerastase, Diesel, Ralph Lauren, Kiehl’s, Decleor, Urban Decay, The Body Shop, Garnier, Maybelline, Essie, Vichy, La Roche Posay, Roger&Gallet, Shiseido and NYX – pretty much the entire beauty industry then! It also has very close links with Nestle – hmm – beauty and chocolate! Needless to say, they are a multi billion dollar company and, given the brands listed above, have a stellar reputation.

My collection of L’Oreal isn’t huge, but I do have a few choice bits and bobs to show you. Online and among the bloggers, L’Oreal has a great reputation for being a budget but high quality brand. Because they share factories, labs, money with Lancome, YSL and Armani, it makes sense that some of the L’Oreal products are rumoured to be good dupes for those higher end brands. L’Oreal True Match Foundation for instance (which I did own when it first came out but god knows where it went! I liked it but I didn’t love it) is said to be a dupe for Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation (three times the price and much hyped online. I’ve not tried it so I can’t comment). Anyway – it is worth doing a bit of brand research to see if such connections might make for some good money-saving dupes.

Right, I’m going to crack on and whiz through these … (yeah right!)

Infallible 24H Matte Foundation in 11 Vanilla – Nice foundation. Despite the name I didn’t find it too matte (I like a bit of glow!). It does tend to grab on to dry patches (it is designed to mattify oilier skins, so if that is you this might be worth a look) so if you do have dry skin like me, you need a good moisturiser and primer underneath. Easy to blend, good coverage and long lasting. A good all-rounder.

Miss Manga Mega Volume Waterproof Mascara in Black – Love this mascara. Mine has dried up a bit now as I’ve had it a while, but it is the only waterproof mascara I own so that is saying something. Nice curl, long lasting, good volume and the waterproof bit works (but isn’t a complete nightmare to get off either). Really good quality product for a decent price.

Brow Artist Plumper in Medium/Dark – This is the only eyebrow product I have ever loved. I much prefer this to the much pricer Benefit Browzing. The colour is better, the fomula is better (not as thick and cakey) and the brush is longer which I like. Total sold on this.

Super Liner Perfect Slim in Black – I am incapable of applying eye liner without some catastrophe happening (wonky line, black lines all over lids, poke liner in eye, eyes crying etc.) but this product makes life a little easier. The felt tip type nib I find a bit easier to work with than a khol pencil. It gives a nice deep black line that stays all day. If/when I brave eye liner, this is the one of choice.

Le Blush in 163 Nectarine – I didn’t need another blusher, but the colour was too good to resist. It is a gorgeous peachy …well nectarine colour! Easy to blend, not too orange or dirty and stays put. I like the packaging too as it has a decent mirror in the bottom of the packet so ideal for chucking in my bag.

Colour Riche Nail polish in Black Diamond – I spoke about this the other day and that these are being discontinued. I assume that L’Oreal will bring out more nail polish formulas as otherwise they’ll be missing from the L’Oreal Paris make up line (although as said above, they do have Essie …). We’ll see. The forumla of some of the other shades are awful, but this Black Diamond one is excellent.

Colour Riche Lipstick in Julianne’s Nude – This features a lot on here as it is one of my most easy-to-wear shades that I can just chuck on without looking in a mirror. The lipsticks from L’Oreal are fabulous. They have gorgeous nudes and amazing reds based around beautiful women we’d all love to look like: Julianne Moore, Naomi Watts, Karlie Kloss, Eva Longoria and Blake Lively. Obviously, wearing the same red lipstick that Blake Lively wears is clearly going to bag us all Ryan Reynolds (or at least a lookalike?!…)… But nevertheless, they are gorgeous shades and a lovely formula.

L’Extraordinaire by Color Riche Rouge Soprano Lipstick in 301 – L’Oreal jumped on the YSL (another one of theirs) bandwagon and produced their own liquid lipsticks and they are pretty decent. They aren’t quite up to YSL, but for the price (and nearly £20 difference) they are worth a go. Decent colour range and the staying power is ok. I actually prefer the lipsticks above though as they last longer.

Colour Riche L’Ombre Pure Eyeshadows (square pots) – L’Oreal do some fab mono eye shadows. Considering they own Urban Decay (the king of eye shadow) you’d expect them to be pretty decent – and they are. The texture of these three browny/bronze/natural shades is so buttery and soft. They are so easy to blend and the colour payoff is fabulous. It is a bit faffy carrying around the single mono pots compared to one palette, but for the price they are excellent quality for money.

Colour Infallible Eyeshadows – These are so so so talked about on the web it is unbelievable. They are also pretty hard to come by in the UK now too – so if you’re someone and spot them – grab them. I always check the L’Oreal counter if I am in a Boots/Superdrug as you never know when they might pop up. The reason for the hype is quite simply they are so SO pigmented and they do not budge – hence the infallible. I only have the two colours below (Timeless White which I use in the inner corner of my eye to make me look more awake, and Eternal Black which I use as a liner with a wet angled brush) but I wish I could get my hands on more! The reason for putting the images below is that I (stupidly) when I first got the Timeless White, chucked away the plastic interior thingy. Big Mistake! This is what keeps the powder pressed, hence why the white is wrecked and the black is pristine! If you ever get an eye shadow with a plastic presser thing inside, don’t chuck it away! Another reason for the popularity is that it is claimed that this formula is a great dupe for the Giorgio Armani Eyes to Kill Eye shadows – again, I don’t own one so I’ve no idea, but half of the internet seems to think so – so they must be right!

Other L’Oreal products worth a mention:

Kids Super Pear Tangle Tamer – I use this on Elsie’s hair alongside The Wetbrush and it works a treat. Smells nice, not too harsh on her hair and no tangles. Cheap too.

Elnet Hairspray – A complete beauty icon. My nan used to use this and women have been using it for years. I don’t really use hairspray, but I always keep a tiny can of it just in case. Doesn’t make hair hard and crispy and smells nice too.

Extraordinary Oil – I used to use this before I discovered pure Moroccan Oil. It was a good substitute if you can’t afford the mega expensive Moroccan stuff. Smells lovely. Run through wet hair before drying, or through dry ends to give a nice shine.

Age Perfect Toner – the best completely budget toner I’ve found. I used this years and years ago when I first got in to make up. Yes it is for ‘older skins’ but it is gentle, smells lovely, contains glycerin to hydrate and doesn’t contain anything hideous. Also completely affordable, even if you go through gallons of the stuff as it is always on offer somewhere.

Lumi Magique Primer – a lovely primer that gives a bit of a dewy glow to the skin before you apply foundation. A good dupe for Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal (££££!).

Ok – not too long! I’m getting better.

So, L’Oreal has some excellent quality products in there. I have to say I’ve not tried their skincare at all (as far as I can remember) so I can’t comment on that. I turn to L’Oreal for some select makeup products and some decent hair care too (if you don’t mind SLS and sulphates in your shampoos) – the Elvive Extraordinary Oil shampoo/conditioner are decent, as is the Elvive Nutri-Gloss range too (they are the ones I’ve personally tried and like). I’ve read a lot of good things online about the Elvive Fibrology Thickening range if that is your concern. All are decently priced and easily available.

Thanks for reading 🙂

X

 

Leave a Reply

