Make Up

A First for Burberry …

Today has been awful. Just hideous. Upsetting. Depressing. Angry. Heart-breaking. Any other adjective you might want to chuck at it. I have already tried and failed to sleep – this may well, therefore, be the first post of many tonight!

Burberry – conjures up images of that god-awful stripe pattern that covered everyone back in the late 90’s – mid naughties. Now apparently, it is one of the Beckham offspring that has made it cool again. No terrible criss-cross pattern in sight! In terms of make-up, I have never even bothered and it has never entered my radar. Until now.

The net has been rife with talk of Burberry make-up – in particular lipsticks, foundations and eye shadows. They are pricey – there’s no getting away from it. But apparently, they are also pretty good… So I decided (on Black Friday and armed with a discount code!) to splash out and treat myself to something I completely didn’t need: eyeshadow!

20151203_130746

The Burberry single eye shadows have made quite a name for themselves with lots of other bloggers and on YouTube. Of course, this doesn’t mean that they are any good, but I wanted to see for myself. The rest of the world seemed to go for the shade ‘Pale Barley’ – a kind of ‘one-shade-suits-all-everyday-shade’. That particular shade didn’t really excite me at all (all the reviews/swatches looked like they weren’t wearing anything – what is the point of that?), so I went for Rosewood. I love a neutral – they are pretty much all I wear on my eyes (apart from a dark black smokey eye on a night out – and when does that happen!?) – and this is a gorgeous neutral. It is mainly a taupe brown shade, with a hint of shimmer and in some lights I can see a faint mauve/pink colour – but very pretty nonetheless and very easy to wear.

20151203_130908

Firstly – the packaging. Now, lets be honest – at some point in our lives we have purchased something because of the packaging! Yes, I am that person who has bought something in Selfridges and still has the yellow bag at the bottom of my wardrobe (in a bag with other bags from ‘cool’ places!). Perfume for example – in my new clutter-free bedroom (thanks talented husband!) – beautiful perfume bottles are the only things allowed on display because the packaging is gorgeous. Anyway – I digress. The Burberry packaging is stunning. Yes the stripes are there – only in certain lights mind – but are elegant and understated. The eye shadow case is weighty, feels luxurious and expensive and has a magnetic clasp. It comes in a lovely velvet pouch and embossed box. The sponge applicator is a waste of time (I do not know why companies bother with the sponge ones – they are awful for applying make up) but the mirror is decent for a small eye shadow; this is a compact I’d be proud to get out and touch-up with!

20151203_130837

Burberry eye shadows are extremely pigmented and soft. The texture is so buttery and easy to blend. It isn’t too glittery or full of big chunks of shimmer which falls all over your face. I usually use this alone on my eyes – just applied with a flat-head eye shadow brush and then blended out with a fluffy brush. I have also applied this over the top of a Maybelline Colour Tattoo (in the bronze shade or the matte grey/taupe shade). The final way I’ve worn it is with a much darker brown shade along the last line and smoked out a bit so the line isn’t so harsh. However you wear it, it is a beautiful shade and the swatch below doesn’t do it any justice!

20151203_130942

So, the scary bit: price. The link below is the cheapest I have found it. It is currently on sale at Feel Unique for £20.70. I paid just under £20 for mine (on Black Friday with a discount, on debenhams.com). On Feel Unique, delivery is free and they have 20 shades available in this formula – including Rosewood and Pale Barley. These shadows are also available at Debenhams and are currently the same price of £20.70. Boots also stock Burberry but they are more expensive at £23.  

http://www.feelunique.com/p/Burberry-Eyes-Eye-Colour-Wet-Dry-Silk-Shadow-2-7g?utm_source=GoogleBaseUK&utm_medium=gen&option=56216&aff=mrn&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=&utm_campaign=Google+Shopping+-+Suppliers_Other&mkwid=sj1PAJ6wr_dc&pcrid=51359806839&pkw=&pmt=&utm_content=sj1PAJ6wr_dc|pcrid|51359806839|pkw||pmt|

Obviously, this is an expensive purchase for one eye shadow – to compare you can get a whole Stila palette for £25, and an amazing Morphe palette for £15, and amazing budget palettes (that I’ll be posting about this week) for under £10. If however, you can afford/want to spend this money on a very high quality, luxury eye shadow then this is a perfect option – especially whilst the sales are on at Debenhams and Feel Unique. As a high-end, luxurious, designer piece, quality-wise you’ll be hard pushed to beat it. 

X

 

Leave a Reply

