Bodycare

Lush Lushness …

I’m a sucker for Lush. The smell of the products, the little stickers on the pots with the name of who made them, the amazing bath bombs! I love it all. We don’t have a Lush on the IOW – but there is one in the Cascades in Portsmouth if you feel the urge- so I usually order online unless I’m actually going to Portsmouth – I wouldn’t make a special trip! I tend to stick to what I know to be honest, as occasionally you can find a slightly ‘funky’ smelling product (Ultrabland cleanser – eurgh)! Like any brand, there are some really raved about products and ones that I just do.not.get (again, Ultrabland). I do know people who swear by their facial skincare – but it isn’t for me. I think it was about four/five years ago I placed a big Lush order in the hope their stuff would sort my face out – it didn’t. But if it works for you – great.

In terms of Lush as a brand they are pretty good. Very good in fact. They are 100% vegan, are hugely against animal testing, use ethical buying methods, all packaging is recyclable and all products are handmade in the UK and are ‘fresh’ – with use by dates clearly on the products. You can’t really ask more from a brand than that really. Some of their products are more expensive than you might usually pay, but you are paying for all of the above – quality products with good quality ingredients. NB: some of their shower gels do contain SLS so check labels and ingredients if you have dry skin or are bothered about SLS on the body – I’m not fussed.

20151203_130311

So, my recent purchases: I was actually in the market for a hydrating facial mask, but I couldn’t see anything that took my fancy. The only really hydrating one seemed to be one with bananas – enough said about that if you know me personally! Vile. So, as usual, I ended up purchasing other stuff…

20151203_125743

Mint Julips Lip Scrub – £5.50 – This is a repurchase; I think it is my 3rd tub. I’ve tried the popcorn one too, but I prefer the mint flavour. As a lover of matte lipsticks, I have to have a lip scrub. Mattes dry your lips out like you wouldn’t believe, so lip scrubbing and moisturising is essential. I use this every night before bed and then slather on lip balm. This is, without a doubt, the best lip scrub ever. I’ve tried Charlotte Tilbury (£20) and Sara Happ (£19 and full of mineral oil) and this is so much better and much cheaper. It does dry out quite quickly (6-9months or so) but I just add in a bit of olive oil or coconut oil to soften it up again. It contains caster sugar, jojoba oil, tagetes oil, peppermint oil, limonene and flavouring – all natural. It smells exactly like mint choc-chip ice cream and tastes like it too. I personally don’t eat the scrub afterwards – I prefer to wipe it off – but it is perfectly safe to lick off. Incidentally, I did make my own a few years ago with olive oil and brown sugar – it worked really well but didn’t last at all well. If you can be faffed to make some up every night then that might be better – I’m too lazy so this is perfect. I will repurchase this again and again.

The Olive Branch Shower Gel £9.75/250mls – I picked this up because it smelt divine. I love citrus/lemon/line scents in the shower and this reminds me of the Mediterranean and lemon groves – bliss. It does contain SLS to foam it, but also olive oil and bergamot oil for moisturising but I’d avoid if you have dry skin.

20151203_125840

Christingle Body Conditioner £16.50 – This is really weird one! It is designed to be an after shower moisturiser. You apply it like you would hair conditioner – leave on for a few minutes and then rinse off. It should leave you feeling soft and smooth and without the need to moisturise your body afterwards – anything that takes that chore away sounds like a good plan to me! And it really does work! Unlike the high-street versions (Nivea, Vaseline etc.) this really does leave the skin moisturised. If you don’t like the feeling of an oil on your skin after you’ve rinsed in the shower, you won’t like this. The other weird thing is that is is VERY minty! I mean, minty so that your skin tingles – it is the strangest feeling! I personally really liked it, but I can see that others might not. It is the peppermint and menthol crystals that make it so, not anything dodgy; it clears your nose too! The Jojoba oil, Glycerine, Shea butter and Murumuru butter ensures that the minty element doesn’t dry the skin out; I really honestly didn’t moisturise my body for 3 days afterwards. So if you’re lazy like me and can’t be faffed with body moisturising, or you have really dry skin, this is worth looking at. If you don’t fancy the minty thing, they do another body conditioner called Ro’s Argan which is Argan Oil based with Almond oil, Brazil Nut oil and Shea butter. I’m definitely going to repurchase this product when I finish it up.

Snowman Shower Jelly £3.95 – I presume this is a limited edition for Christmas, but Lush’s shower jellies are one of their lest selling products so there will always be other options once Christmas is over. I picked this up on a whim, again because of the scent; it has a lovely fresh lemon based scent. These are great for the bath or shower but the only problem is picking them up – they are literally jelly, so slip and slide all over the place! You basically rub it between your hands as you would a bar of soap, and then apply to your body. It lathers up nicely (it does contain SLS) and feels like it is cleaning. Despite appearances, it does last quite a long time. I’ve got about half the size left and I’ve used it about 5 times.

20151203_130040

Who doesn’t love a Lush bath bomb?! This is what Lush are famous for and boy do they do it well. I’ve not come across a bath bomb from another company that are as good as Lush’s. Some do contain SLS (I doubt the fizzing would be as good otherwise) but like I said, unless you have dry body skin or irritations, you should be ok.

Top left – Frozen £3.95 – This one turns the bath water blue. The fizz is great – it really packs a punch. The scent is grapefruit, rose and neroli – it smells really uplifting and luxurious. It also contains lovely girly sparkles/glitter – so might be good before going on a night out. It doesn’t leave you looking like a glitter ball – just a nice subtle shimmer.

Top right – Golden wonder £3.95 – Lime oil and sweet orange make this bomb a perfect fruity pick-me-up. The water turns turquoise and again, there is some subtle shimmer to the water.

Bottom right – Avobath £3.95 – Lemon and bergamot oils (apparently my favourite scents according to Lush), plus avocado and olive oil to soften skin. I love this bomb and this is a repurchase; I think I’ve had about 4 of these. This bomb is perfect for dry skin sufferers as it doesn’t contain SLS – I find this makes it slightly less fizzy but still enjoyable. The water turns a lovely sparkly dark green and the smell is divine.

Bottom left – Butterball £2.65 – This is quite a simple bomb – but the smell is gorgeous but relaxing and not too overpowering. Ylang ylang and cocoa butter are all it contains and it is SLS free too. It turns the water really smooth (ideal for hard water areas like the IOW).

So, as you read this I’ve already used all of the bombs above – time for another order? … I have got some of the SLS free ones for Elsie for Christmas as she is obsessed with bath bombs – so great for kids. A word of warning though – don’t keep your bombs in the bathroom where it is damp and gets humid – they disintegrate in those conditions. I now keep mine in the bedroom in the paper bag they come in.

What should you buy? Definitely a lip scrub, a body conditioner if you’re lazy with moisturising and some bath bombs. The Lush website is really good for listing ingredients so you can check SLS etc.

X

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

