Empties

Empties Post #3

I have had another satisfying collection of ‘rubbish’ this month. I love reading other bloggers’ empties posts – being nosy and seeing what they use and rate/don’t rate. Here’s my load of rubbish …

20151207_115918

1. OGX Coconut Water Conditioner £6.99 Boots – Whoever manages to finish a shampoo and conditioner at the same time is a better woman than me! I find it impossible! I always go through more conditioner because I use much more of it. OGX is my go-to brand for hair care. SLS free, no nasties and safe enough to use on Elsie’s hair. The scent of this particular one is gorgeous – I’m a sucker for anything coconut. It feels luxurious yet not heavy – lightweight really, just as it says. If you’re fed up of your hair care, try OGX. Repurchase? Yes definitely – I’ve got Macadamia Nut to get through first from OGX, but definitely after that. 

2. John Frieda Kelp Help Deep Conditioning Masque £5.89 Boots/Superdrug – I bought this on a bit of a whim back in the summer. It is designed for ‘surfy’ hair – totally not me! But it does say it is a repairing mask for tangled, dry, damaged hair – which is me. I’m not the biggest fan of John Frieda – I think his products are quite over-hyped, but I do like this mask. The smell is gorgeous – a subtle mint scent. It did leave my hair smooth and soft, but I only got about 3 or 4 use out of the tub as you need quite a lot of it. Repurchase? Hmm.. probably not because I like trying out different hair masks and although it worked, I wasn’t wowed by it enough. And the tub isn’t big enough for the price. 

3. Ojon Rare Blend Deep Conditioner £30.00 Boots/John Lewis  I got this about 8 months ago when I bought it with the shampoo from Ojon. I hated the shampoo and I gave away. An expensive mistake. I hung on to this because hair conditioners generally do at least some kind of conditioning. I like it – it does condition. It is quite thick and kind of made up of two coloured conditioners that you have to swirl together in your palms before applying. It does smell a bit like car wax – which was weird – and it hung around for a few days on my hair too. Don’t get me wrong, this is a good quality conditioner, but for that massive price I don’t think it is worth it. Repurchase? No, purely because of the price. The Dove Oil Conditioner is almost an exact dupe (with a few extra added silicone’s admittedly but still…) and so much cheaper. I’d buy that instead.  

20151207_115946

4. The Sanctuary Spa Air Whipped Shower Souffle £7.00 Boots – Now this product doesn’t look like an empty I know – that is because the shower souffle is SO bloody hard to get out of the tube I gave up! After I took this photo, I cut the tube in two and scraped out the product. I have never, ever had to work so hard for some shower cream in my life! It is such a shame as the actual product is gorgeous – amazing scent, creamy and soft and moisturising. I bought it because it looked like a bit of a novelty with the ‘cake frosting’ twirled cap-thing, but that just made it so difficult to use – which is a real shame. Repurchase? Sort out the packaging Sanctuary, and I might buy it again!

20151207_120019

5. Lancome Bi-Facil Eye Makeup Remover £21.50 Boots – Thank god I’ve finished another makeup remover! I really didn’t like this to be honest. It is one of those ones you have to shake up to combine the two liquids. It is very oily and greasy and not all that good at taking off eye makeup! My Garnier Miceller Water is much better. I’ve heard amazing things about the Clarins eye makeup remover, so when I’ve worked my way through my stash I might purchase that one. Repurchase? No, because it is not effective enough and others are cheaper and do it better. 

6. Caudalie Grape Water 75ml/£5.70 200ml/£9.50 http://www.escentual.com – I love this stuff. If you’re looking for an inexpensive but effective moisturising toner then this is for you. It is ideal for sensitive skin – I use this when my face is a bit reactive/sun burnt/red and it just cools everything down; it is also excellent for hot climates – I’ll definitely take this on my next holiday. In the routine, this comes after acid toner and before eye cream and serum. Caudalie is such a lovely, under-rated brand. Repurchase? Yes, definitely but I’ll buy the full size one next time as it is better value. Moisturising toners/spritzers are always something I will use. 

7. La Roche Posay Dark Circle Skin-Evening Corrector £18.40 http://www.feelunique.com – I really like this eye cream and I do think it made a difference to my under eye circles. It is slightly tinted so better to use in the morning than the evening. The applicator is a cool, metal design that feels really nice on the eyes first thing in the morning. I apply about a grain or rice on both eyes and then pat in with fingers. It is moisturising and a good base for eye makeup. Repurchase? Probably not, simply because I am now less concerned with dark circles, but more with crows feet and wrinkles, so my eye creams need to be more focused on that. You can cover dark circles with concealer, but wrinkles are harder to disguise. 

20151207_120139

All of these below are sample sizes that I received free with other orders from Clarins and Feel Unique. I obviously have quite a limited response to these samples as the size only allows about a week’s worth of trial. However, in the case of the Clarins creams – I know my skin doesn’t really like them. Also, they are quite pricey and I’ve found better creams for better prices.

8. Clarins Super Restorative Day Cream £56.95/50ml http://www.allbeauty.com – This has the usual Clarins scent which I like. As I said above, my skin really doesn’t respond as I’d like it to, when I use Clarins day/night creams. I absolutley love Clarins as a brand and own tons of their stuff, but their creams just do not work for me. Others love them of course, so each to their own. This one is aimed at older skin (50+) and aims to restore glow, moisture and health. Purchase full size? No. 

9. Clarins Multi-Active Night Youth Recovery Cream £36.95/50ml http://www.allbeauty.com – Again, aimed at the 50+ age range. This was quite a nice, moisturising night cream and I wish it actually did something for my skin! The scent is the same and if you’re lucky enough to have skin that works with Clarins moisturisers then I’m sure this is lovely. Purchase full size? No. 

10. Clarins Vital Light Night Cream £55.40/50ml http://www.escentual.com – Another night cream – this one is much lighter even though it is for dry skin. I liked this one the best of all three of the creams. It is aimed at 30-50 age range, so more appropriate to my skin. Purchase full size? No

20151207_120218

11. Clarins Eye Contour Balm £23.95 http://www.allbeauty.com – This is meant to be the eye version of the famous Beauty Flash Balm (which I own but don’t really rate that much). I liked this – it did seem to fill in the fine lines around my eyes – but for an (expensive) eye product, I want it to treat the fine lines, not fill them in! Purchase full size? No – I need my eye care to really treat the line/wrinkle problem, not just paper over it. 

12. Clarins Super Restorative Total Eye Concentrate £47.50 http://www.escentual.com – Again, another decent eye cream. I managed to get about two weeks out of this tiny tube and I did like it. I don’t think I had it for long enough for it to make a difference to my fine lines. It was moisturising though, and makeup sat well on top of it. Purchase full size? No, as I have a load of other eye creams waiting in the wings. This was a decent product though, so maybe in the future. 

13. Caudalie Polyphenol C15 Anti-Wrinkle Eye & Lip Cream £26.00 http://www.feelunique.com – This is the tiniest tube ever! I used it for about 5 days, once a day, around my lips not my eyes. I am going to get those deep lines around my upper lips as I get older (thanks Mother dearest) so I’m going to need to start thinking about a cream for the lips soon. This was nice, but I needed more to make s judgement. Purchase full size? Possibly in the future, for lips only. 

20151207_120303

14. Clarins Toning Lotion with Iris £14.95/200ml http://www.allbeauty.com – I really liked this toner. It is for combination or oily skin, which I don’t have, but it still worked very well on my skin. The liquid is green in colour and has a nice fresh scent. I used it on a cotton pad at the hydrating toner stage. I use the Extra Comfort Toner at the moment and I have the one for Dry Skin to test soon – all Clarins toners are excellent – really great quality and brilliantly hydrating. Purchase full size? Yes, I will purchase this full size, probably in the summer when the weather gets warmer and my skin will get a tad more oily. 

15. Bumble & Bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil £32.00/100ml Boots – This was a free sample when I purchased by B&B Curl Creme. The sample tube is tiny, but it has lasted me a while. I use this on wet hair, on the ends, before blow-drying. I don’t like this as much as the original Moroccan Oil as this feels so much more ‘siliconey’ and greasy. I wouldn’t say it was invisible oil – I can definietly feel it on the ends of my hair. And it is massively expensive – not worth it if you ask me. Purchase full size? No, nothing has come close to the Moroccan Oil, and this is overpriced. 

16. Caudalie Premier Cru The Elixir £49.00/29ml http://www.feelunique.com – Again, another teeny tiny tube of this oil. The full size is ridiculously expensive and not worth in – in my opinion. Granted, I only had a tiny tube, so can’t make a full blown statement of how effective it is, but I used this for about 8 days and I didn’t like the texture of the oil – it was so so greasy (Clarins Oils are not anywhere near as greasy). It didn’t sink in really and left oil marks all over my pillow – which was annoying. Purchase full size? No, very expensive and there are better, cheaper oils. 

So, there we go. A bit of a mixed bag really – some definite repurchases and some not. Sample sizes, although obviously not purchased by myself, are a great way to test out some (often expensive) products that I’d be really disappointed with if I’d bought them myself without testing.

Products you should definitely try: Caudalie Grape Water and OGX shampoo/conditioners. 

X

Leave a Reply

