Haircare · Monthly Favourites · Skincare

2015 Skincare/Haircare Favourites …

2015 has been a real mixed bag. Some wonderful moments and some truly terrible ones. It is definitely a year that I will never, ever forget.

2015 was also the year I started to put my musings on skincare and makeup on to my little piece of the internet! I thank you for all of your wonderful comments and requests in response to the blog and the Facebook page – I love reading all of your messages. I hope that there are a few people whose skin has changed for the better after reading something I’ve written! And I hope some of you have bought a product or two, recommended by me, that has made you smile!

I purchased a lot of beauty products in 2015 – some good, some not so good. I thought I’d put together a post detailing my absolute favourites from 2015. I’ve had to split the list in to two posts as there are quite a few and the one post would have been mammoth!

If you’ve been reading my blog since the start, you’ll not be surprised at some of these. To make it simple, and to explain why I class these products as favourites – I simply reach for them the most! I have quite a stash of products, which can get a bit overwhelming, but these products have held their own against them all and I find myself picking them up over loads of others. So, in effect, this post could be called – my most reached for of 2015. Some products I’ve had for ages, others are relatively new additions but all work for me and that’s why I love them!

Lets kick off with skincare – my most favourite love!

20151228_143229

Garnier Micellar Water – cheap as chips, always on offer and does a sterling job of removing eye make-up. It doesn’t do so great on waterproof mascara, but I rarely use that. It doesn’t sting my eyes and doesn’t leave them red. Reliable and cheap – this is my second bottle.

The Body Shop Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil – God, I love this stuff. I use 2/3 pumps of this all over a dry face of makeup and it is gone with a few swipes of a warm flannel. This is the second or third bottle I think – I cannot see a time where I won’t have this in my bathroom.

Boots Botanics Hydration Burst Dual Action Cleanser – Quite a new discovery but one I reach for nearly every night for the second cleanse, and sometimes in the morning for the only cleanse. Gel to oil to milk cleanser. Doesn’t leave skin tight, smells nice, feels nice. Bargain price.

Soap & Glory The Ultimelt Cleanser – Alternative to Liz Earle (which I do not like). Creamy, inoffensive, cheap-ish cleanser. I use in the AM or the second PM cleanse. Smells of lavender (which I love) and doesn’t leave skin tight. Winner.

20151228_143413

Clarins Extra-Comfort Toning Lotion – This is the third or forth bottle of this that I’ve owned. I absolutely love this stuff – it is so soothing and cooling. I seems to be more of a thicker toner than others I’ve used and almost feels gel-like on the skin. I use this AM and PM when my skin feels tight/sunburnt/red/irritated/hot etc. It is perfect for dry or dehydrated skin. Love.

No7 Youthful Eye Serum – This was sent to me by Boots and I didn’t expect to like it, but I love it. I really feel like it has done something to the fine lines around my eyes and the dark circles underneath. I’ve completely fallen in love with this little cream and it has affirmed it’s place on my shelf!

Origins Eye Doctor – This little tub really came in to it’s own in the summer months during the hay fever season. Slathering this cooling, thick cream on my eyes for some instant hydration was blissful. I’ve used about half the tub and it will be back in 2016 when the itchy eyes start!

Dr Weil for Origins Mega Mushroom Skin Relief – This gorgeous serum saved my skin on Christmas Party night this year when my face went the colour of a beetroot. It also saved me after reacting to a retinol product, and when I was on some medication after having Freddie. Cooling, soothing and perfect for redness.

Hydraluron – Oh how I love thee, let me count the ways! What can I say?! It is in the Hall of Fame and rightly so. I cannot live without this in my cupboard. A forever repurchase!

20151228_143511

La Roche Posay Toleraine Fluide – A simple, basic, effective moisturiser. What you see is what you get. Goes on silky smooth, light but sinks in beautifully. Aimed at more oily skin, but I have normal/dry and this is lovely. Defintely for a day when my skin is just … normal.

Dr Weil for Origins Mega Mushroom Skin Relief – Again, like the serum above, this saved me and I will be eternally grateful. A really thick, soothing cream that still sinks in wonderfully but provides real hydration whilst calming skin and redness. I really love this Mega Mushroom range.

Avene Skin Recovery Cream – This little tube I wouldn’t be without either. Cuts, grazes, burns, flaky skin, itchy skin – you name it, I’ve slapped this on. It worked wonders on my nose just before Christmas when I had a hideous cold. I’ve used it on spots that I’ve picked (I know!) and made worse. Just a great little thing to have tucked away for when you need it.

Bobbi Brown Vitamin Enriched Face Base – I LOVE this product! This is my favourite make up base – ever – and makes a fab stand-alone moisturiser. It is such a great canvas to paint foundation on. It smooths skin, sinks in, provides excellent hydration, smells lovely and fresh, is good for the skin. Just amazing. This is the second tub of this and I won’t be without it. I feel a Hall of Fame post coming …

20151228_143833

Origins Make A Difference Plus + Treatment – I think this is my third tub of this cream/gel. It is so soothing and hydrating that I simply don’t want to put anything else on my face at night. I reach for this more than any other night cream that I own. It smells lush and sinks in so easily and doesn’t leave any residue on my white sheets. Sometimes I double layer if I’ve got sun burn or need a bit extra moisture.

Clarins Blue Orchid Face Treatment Oil – This is my most recommended product I think (after Hydraluron). Whatever skin type you are, you need a Clarins oil to suit you. The Lotus Oil one for oily skin sorted and re-balanced by skin and this one for dehydrated skin just keeps my skin ticking over. I now only need to use this oil 2 or 3 times a week. Thank you Clarins Oils – my skin owes you!

20151228_143940

Origins Super Spot Remover – This gem is perfect for zapping those white heads with or dabbing on the red, cystic bumps. It tends to either bring the spot to the surface or make it go away. It isn’t a miracle worker – that treatment doesn’t exist! – but it does improve the situation. This is my second bottle of this.

Gatineau Radiance Enhancing Gommage Mild Enzymatic Exfoliator – I reach for this mask/treatment more than any other. It is a weird gel texture that you smear over your face and massage in, until the gel turns to a liquid – then you flannel off. It leaves my skin feeling smooth and looking fresher, clearer and more radiant. Exactly what it claims to do!

Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub – I can’t be without a lip scrub since I discovered matte lip sticks, and this is the best one I’ve tried. It is fairly cheap and gives a good scrub. Smells lovely and makes my lips soft and supple but never sore. This is the second tub.

Caudalie Lip Conditioner – I’ve used this lip balm almost every single night and morning for the whole year. It is the one I pick up more than any other one I own. It is light not heavy, cheap, doesn’t contain mineral oil and really does something for the lips – unlike Vaseline for instance, that sits on the surface and never penetrates. I’ve already repurchased a third tube of this.

Haircare: 

20151228_144117

OGX Shampoo and Conditioners – I harp on about these products all the time. The Kukui Oil ones pictured above are just the ones I had to hand when I was taking the photos – but literally any of the range could be added in here. Personal favourites in our house are the Weightless Coconut, Argan and Macademia Oil and the Kukui Oil one above. All are SLS free, meaning frizz is kept to a minimum. SLS free also means that they are good to use on Elsie’s hair too; Steve also uses them. We go through bottles and bottles of the stuff and I tend to stock up when they are on offer in Boots. I wouldn’t go back to any other brand now.

20151228_144143

COLAB Dry Shampoo – I’ve tried so many dry shampoo brands and always end up back to COLAB. This was a new release for 2015 I believe and this is my fifth bottle I think?.. It doesn’t turn my hair grey, doesn’t make it feel dry and crispy and doesn’t make it greasy or smell funny. I only use dry shampoo once a week to eek another day out of my hair (I wash my hair once a week usually). I always wash it the day after using it, so it is purely a convenience thing for me – I don’t use it for texturising reasons as I know some do, so I can’t comment on that.

MoroccanOil Treatment – The original and the best. Yes, it is pricey but my god this bottle lasts! I’ve had it for a year and I use it once a week (sometimes twice if my hair is frizzy – one pump on dry ends), and I’ve used 1/3 of the bottle. I use two pumps on towel-dry hair, on the ends and about 6 inches up my hair. It smells amazing and just smooths and conditions the ends of the hair. Again, another candidate for the Hall of Fame.

Wet Brush – I discovered this fairly recently and I’m afraid the Tangle Teezer hasn’t even been picked up since! I use this on my thick, wiry, knotted hair and on Elsie’s thick, tangled hair- wet and dry. It is amazing. It makes light work of knots and tangles without pulling and is perfectly safe for use on wet hair – hence Wet Brush – that was what it was designed for! Totally in love with it.

Right, that is it for tonight – tomorrow I’ll be back with 2015 make up favourites. I also have a New Discoveries of 2015 post as well as some make up of the day/skincare of the day posts.

Happy New Year to everyone that reads this, and thank you for reading it!

X

2 thoughts on “2015 Skincare/Haircare Favourites …

    1. Thanks! There are definitely some real gems in the Origins range. The Make a Difference Night Treatment is probably my favourite out of all of the products. Thank you for commenting! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

