Bodycare · Haircare · Skincare

The Best 2015 Skincare, Bodycare & Hair care Discoveries …

I thought I’d do this little post because I wanted to highlight some of the products that I discovered in 2015 that didn’t necessarily make it on to my favourites list. That’s not because they weren’t good enough, but just that I had to be really picky to make a favourites post that wasn’t 654,790 words long!

This post basically consists of any products that I discovered, for the first time, in 2015, that I loved. The products didn’t necessarily come out in 2015, but that is when they came on to my radar. Some of them are also a cross-over with the favourites post. It’s another whistle-stop tour or I’ll be here for hours and hours! And again, this post is skincare and hair care – tomorrow will be makeup.

20151228_122046

Schwarzkopf Got2b Mind Blowing Fast Dry Hairspray – I first picked this up after reading a review on http://www.katelavie.com – a blog that I regularly read and love. This is a genious product that really does shorten the length of time it takes to dry my hair. Combined with my new hairdryer (I had NO idea how rubbish my old, 9 year old one, was until I got a new one!), this shaves a good 5-10 minutes or so off of the drying time. It normally takes a good 20-25 minutes to completely dry my thick, coarse, wavy hair (I do it in 4 sections usually), so this stuff is a godsend!

COLAB Dry Shampoo – I talked about this in the favourites. Love love love it.

Schwarzkopf Got2b Oil-licious Weightless Dry Oil Mist – This is quite a new find and I love it – especially on Elsie’s hair. She has quite dry ends (her hair is really long!) and like me, we go about a week between washes – so this just conditions the ends beautifully and makes them soft. I usually spritz it on after blow drying and randomly over the week between washes – smells lush too.

Wet Brush – Again, a favourite through and through. Just go and buy one!

20151228_122301

Clarins Water Comfort One-Step Cleanser – When some people are lazy they use wipes (eurgh) to get rid of makeup – I use this. It is a soft, water based cleansing water that has a bit more clout than the micellar water I find, and is a bit less drying on the skin. This is also really good for the morning if you just want a quick swipe over the skin. I’m planning on decanting some of this for the plane when on holiday too – the more mositure you can get in to your skin on a plane, the better. Lovely peach scent too.

Boots Botanics Hydration Burst Dual Action Cleanser – This was in the favourites too. It is such an amazing bargain for such a good cleanser. I really like the gel texture that, with a bit of massaging, turns in to a more oil like product. I massage this all over the face (either AM cleanse or PM second cleanse – haven’t tried it at makeup removal) and then add some water to turn it to a milky texture, and flannel off. You could do a lot worse for the price!

Soap & Glory The Ultimelt Cleanser – Again, another from the favourites – a much better Liz Earle dupe. And cheaper too. I love this and am so glad I picked it up in 2015 – it’ll be sticking around this year!

Lush Christingle Body Conditioner – This was totally new for 2015 and I got it right at the end and I loved it! The idea of moisturisers in the shower isn’t especailly new, but all the ones I’d tried (Superdrug, Nivea etc.) had just been rubbish. This is brilliant. It leaves a lovely, silky oil on your skin (I think this product is a bit Marmite!) that I love, meaning you don’t need to moisturise after showering. This partiucalr one leaves your skin tingling (sounds weird, actually I like it!) and the scent is very minty – bit toothpaste like. I like it because it saves me a step – I hate body moisturising!

20151228_122431

Dr Andrew Weil for Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Serum – I dip in and out of this when my skin is red and going crazy, it isn’t a serum I use daily. It is just a soothing serum that works perfectly to calm my skin down and take the redness away. This whole range from Origins is definitely worth a look if you suffer with redness.

Dr Andrew Weil for Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Soothing Face Cream – Again, like above, something I use when needed. The cream is quick thick and nourishing, but sinks in really well and takes down the colour. I used this on my xmas night out as I’ve mentioned before, and it (along with Laura Mercier concealer) prevented me from looking like Rudolph all over my face.

Pixi Hydrating Milky Mist – This is simply gorgeous. As a hydrating toner it certainly does the job. I know hydrating toners are a bit of a luxe item (and some say they do nothing for the skin, and that they are just pricey water – that be as it may) but I love them. There is nothing like spritzing the skin with lush scented loveliness. This contain Hyaluronic Acid – the component of the famed Hydraluron – again, anything that gives me moisture is good with me! I use AM and PM after acid and before serums. It will be nice in the summer too, refrigerated, for a cool down.

No.7 Youthful Eye Serum – I think I’m going to write a full review on this, and it was in the favourites too, but again – a lot of love for this, rather plain looking, tube for eye cream. It has definitely made a difference to the little lines around my eyes and the dark circles. Not magic, but the best I’ve tried over the years. And not a bad price for a decent eye cream either.

Caudalie Lip Conditioner – I’ve raved about this loads. I still love it. I’m coming to the end of mine and will be repurchasing. It is one of the smoothest, most hydrating lip products I’ve owned and I use it morning and evening every day and various times in between.

So, part two tomorrow … I’d love to know if there were any new discoveries you made in 2015 that you think I should take a look at!

X

Leave a Reply

