Bodycare · Budget · Haircare · Skincare

Brilliant High Street Beauty Buys …

As discussed many times before, some people might not want to/can’t splurge on skincare – and that is fine. Personally, I like to spend money on it – you only get one face – and as I’ve told my husband many, many times – “it is an investment and when you are 60, Steve, and look 90, I’ll only look 40 (hopefully!!)” … We’ll see …

Anyway – the high street (or drugstore for overseas readers – hello!) do some fabulous products. We all know I love Hydraluron and cannot live without it, but there are many many others that are a decent price and can be easily purchased either with a walk in to town or online. Boots online do free delivery to in store (which I use all the time and is usually next day) and Superdrug do free home delivery over £15 I think.

As well as Boots and Superdrug, obviously The Body Shop is on the high street too and do some fabulous products (Camomile Cleansing Oil and Vitamin E range are personal favourites). Waitrose also do some excellent products – the Pure Beauty range is SO affordable and contains decent ingredients for such a cheap brand: the facial oil and eye gel are especially good and are both £2.99 each! There are no excuses for not having a decent skincare routine with prices like this! This would also be an ideal range for teenagers just getting in to skincare.

***All skincare is 3 for 2 at Boots at the moment … ***

I own quite a bit of both high end and high street skincare, and these are the best bits I think:

20160119_140122

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water 400ml/£3.00 Boots – I’ve talked about this before many times. I use this for removing eye makeup – soak a cotton pad, apply to eyes and tap gently, then swipe away. It’s not going to win any innovative awards, but it does the job and doesn’t sting my eyes (unlike Simple Micellar water which nearly made them fall out!). Cheap, similar to the famous Bioderma (that is pricier) and doesn’t leave eyes sore. I wouldn’t use this for whole face makeup removal as I use an oil cleanser, but for the eyes it is fine.

20160119_140153

Superdrug Naturally Radiant Brightening Hot Cloth Cleanser normally £5.99, currently £2.98 Superdrug – This is a fabulous find. We all know I hate the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish as it drys my skin out completely, so this is a much kinder, less eucalyptus, less drying version – and it is much cheaper. It is a thick cream, comes with a muslin cloth (I use a flannel) and has quite a fresh, subtle masculine scent (which I really like). I find this much less drying and I would choose this any day over LE. Use as an AM or second PM cleanse – I’ve not tried it for makeup removal as I prefer oil.

20160119_140226

La Roche Posay Serozinc £8.50 Boots – I remember a time when I had to get my brother to bring back bottles of this from France as they didn’t stock it in the UK. Thankfully, it is now in Boots! Yes, it is water. I love a spritz toner (although I can see why others might think it a waste of money) – but I will use every opportunity to get moisture in to my skin and that is what a toner does. This one contains zinc – so ideal for blemish prone skin or irritated skin. I use this when I have spots or sunburn or an irritation. It cools, calms and aids healing -you can’t go wrong really! This tin has lasted me about 9 months and I probably use it about 3 times a week, twice a day. It goes after acid tone and before eye cream and serum.

Superdrug Vitamin E Refreshing Toning Mist 150ml/£2.99 Superdrug – This is a gorgeous toner. If you don’t have blemish prone skin and feel the Serozinc isn’t needed, then this would be perfect. The mist is really fine and really moisturising and the scent is lovely. The Body Shop’s Vitamin E Face Mist is exactly the same but you only get 100ml/£9.50 – so this product is much better value for money. I use this morning and night when I’m not using the Serozinc. I have also used it over makeup and during the day to refresh skin and makeup. Perfect for planes, air-con, central heating environments that are awful for the skin.

20160119_140243

Hydraluron £24.99 Boots (on 3 for 2 at the moment, or wait for a price reduction offer) – Ahhh Hydraluron – my most recommended and talked about product. Ever. Everyone should own this – regardless of skin type or age! This is the one product that I get twitchy about them ever discontinuing … I do not know what I would do! Just go and buy it … There is stock in our local Boots in Newport at the moment – I saw it there yesterday. It is sold out online, but join the waiting list. You won’t regret it.

La Roche Posay Toleriane Fluid 40ml/£15.00 Boots – This is such a simple but nice moisturiser. No nasties, no insane claims, great for sensitive skin. I have used the rich one (as I have drier skin) but that was very rich – far too rich for me – so I returned to this one. Light, sinks in beautifully and a great makeup base with no rolling/peeling of foundation (my pet hate!). If you want a moisturiser but are bamboozled by all the brands/claims, then try this.

20160119_140251

Avene TriAcneal £17.25 Lloyds Pharmacy  – Apologies for this as I thought you could get it in Boots, but apparently not! It is on the LP website but I’m not sure about in store. The TriAcneal range from Avene is one of the few ranges that was developed specifically for cystic acne. If you’re someone who gets those horrible, red, painful bumps on your jaw/chin area (anything jaw/chin area is hormonal by the way) -then you should have a look at this range. I don’t use this all the time, obviously, but when I have one of those bumps appear, I slap this on. It isn’t a miracle worker, but it does ease the redness, take down the swelling and the pain – anything that helps! There is a moisturiser and mask in this range too.

20160119_140259

No7 Beautiful Skin Hydration Mask £12.50 Boots (This is part of the 3 for 2 on skincare but I think it is better value with a £5 off No7 voucher that are around every few months) – This is a really nice, cooling, soothing, hydrating mask – it’s as simple as that. I use this about once a week and I’ve used it about 5 times so far, so it hasn’t moved much so great value for money. It is a gel/cream texture with a pleasant scent. It doesn’t dry hard on the face (something I hate), and sinks in to the dry bits where needed – the rest stays on the surface. I leave it on for about 30 minutes and then wipe off with a warm flannel. My skin feels soft, smooth and plump.

20160119_140318

Dove Nourishing Oil Care Express Treatment Conditioner £3.99 Boots or Tesco – This is a bit of a dupe for the Ojon Rare Blend Deep Conditioner, which is £30 and I didn’t like it at all. This is a much lighter version and doesn’t leave my hair feeling greasy and tacky. I apply this to the last 1/3 of my hair and leave it in for a good 5-6 minutes. It makes the ends of my hair feel very hydrated and soft, when they are normally quite dry and crispy. It is too heavy for whole head conditioning, so I always follow with my OGX conditioner all over the head.

20160119_140326

Garnier Ultimate Beauty Oil £5.29 Superdrug – I love this stuff! I think this is my third bottle and I use it all the time – usually over other body moisturisers to be honest. It is so quick and easy to just spray and rub in. It is an oil but it isn’t greasy and it doesn’t stain clothes or leave a residue; it is just a lovely moisturiser and so quick and easy. It also doesn’t contain mineral oil either – yippee! You do have to be careful when you spray it (I’ve moved to the bathroom) as I did spray it all up the newly painted wall in the bedroom as the mist/spritz is quite intense and covers a wide area – Steve was no impressed … But aside from spritzing issues, this is a brilliant bargain buy. They also do one for cellulite too, which I haven’t tried but I might do that one next.

Honorable other mentions: 

Garnier Body Repair Lotion £5.45 Boots – my favourite high street body moisturiser (apart from the oil above)

Sanctuary Spa 5 Minute Thermal Detox Mask £10.00 Boots – purifying, warming clay mask – ideal for big pores, oily, blemish-prone skin.

Superdrug Spa Hydrating 5 Minute Facial Sheet Mask £1.29 Superdrug – these sheet masks are my new favourite addiction!

La Roche-Posay Redermic [R] Eyes £24.50 Boots – my new favourite eye cream, although I do still love the No7 Eye Serum

One more thing:

Sally Hughes, the Guardian Beauty Editor absolutely RAVES about this serum from Superdrug:

http://www.superdrug.com/Skin/Face/Serums/Superdrug-Simply-Pure-Hydrating-Serum-50ml/p/342700

I tried it years ago when she first talked about it and it sold out straight away, then Superdrug discontinued it. Now, they’ve brought it back – yay…. but it has gone on to a waiting list again. I’ve signed up to be notified online when stock comes in – I suggest you do the same! It is normally £2.69 but is on offer at £1.29 at the moment, but, as I said, out of stock. Create a Superdrug account and get your name on that list! It is a hydrating, light serum – similar to Hydraluron really. If Hydraluron is out of your budget – you NEED this!

I hope that was vaguely interesting and informative …

Thanks for reading

X

 

 

Leave a Reply

