Bodycare · Empties · Haircare · Make Up · Skincare

Empties #7 …

Yet more rubbish I’ve been saving up to tell you all about! The box in my cupboard was overflowing this time, so I have clearly used up a load of stuff since January 14th when I last did an empties post.

20160216_092417

Empties, favourites  and disappointed posts are my favourite ones to read/watch on other blogs/YouTube accounts as I feel you learn so much about different products without having to read a 4000 word analysis (which, I know, sometimes you want – but it’s just easier with a ‘snapshot’ review). Empties are some of the most popular posts on this blog too – according to the stats! Right, let’s get cracking as there are a ton of products to talk about! …

Hair:

20160215_100134

COLAB Dry Shampoo London Fragrance £3.49 Superdrug – I think I have one of these tins in every empties post! This is my absolute favourite dry shampoo. Ever. So, so much better than Batiste and no grey hair! I love the London fragrance – fruity and smells quite ‘dry’ if that makes sense? No crispy hair as I apply the night before and sleep with it in so it absorbs the oils … and I get one more day out of my hair. Repurchase? Yes, already have done in the Rio fragrance. Lifetime repurchase. 

OGX Coconut Water Shampoo £6.99 Boots or Superdrug (I’d wait for an offer!) – Again, I think this must be the 20th bottle of OGX that I’ve been though – they are my go-to shampoo/conditioner brand and I love love love them. Everyone in my family uses OGX, even Elsie and it is brilliant stuff. No SLS in (the foaming agent) so no dry, irritated scalp and my frizz is reduced (if you have scalp/frizz issues – try an SLS free). Smells amazing too. The Coconut Water is my absolute favourite one. Repurchase? Already have – Coconut Water, Vitamin E and the Ginger one too. Lifetime repurchase. 

John Freida Smooth Seas Detangling Conditioner £5.99 Boots or Tesco – This was a bit of a whim purchase. I was away last year sometime and forgot my shampoo and found this in a local Tesco. The shampoo and conditioner both smell amazing – kind of mildly minty with a citrus undertone – just gorgeous and exactly my kind of scent. It is designed for hair that is in the sea a lot … mine isn’t in winter but it is quite good at detangling and leaves hair quite soft. I preferred the conditioner to the shampoo as that had SLS in it. I’ve been using this on Elsie’s very tangle-prone hair and it works ok. It’s not amazing, but ok. Repurchase? Probably not – it doesn’t do anything amazing enough to warrant another purchase. I would get the masque in this range though as that was much better. 

Body: 

20160215_100158

Good Things Argan Oil Restoring Body Wash £2.99 Superdrug – I bought this because it is an SLS free body wash and I wanted to test it out. I do like it because it is SLS free (and would be perfect for really dry skin), but for me, it just wasn’t exciting enough! It smells pleasant but not amazing and I did get a bit bored of the scent after a while. Don’t get me wrong, there was nothing bad about it and for £2.99 for SLS free, you cannot go wrong – I’d buy this for Elsie/children because of the lack of SLS. For me though, because I don’t have dry skin, SLS doesn’t bother me *that* much on my body – I’d rather have something that smells amazing! But good work Good Things – there is definitely a market for SLS free, budget shower products. Repurchase? Probably not for me – maybe for Els.

Lush The Olive Branch Shower Gel £9.50/250g – I had such high hopes for this shower gel as I’d read such a lot of good things about it, but I was SO disappointed! On the first few uses the smell was lovely – bergamot, oranges, olives – like the smell of the Medditerainean… then it all went a bit cigarette-like. Eurgh. I have to be honest, I actually poured about the last inch of product down the drain. I could not stand it any more! It was like washing in an old ashtray! Disgusting. The texture is a very watery and quite hard to work with – you have to be super quick if you want any hope of getting any on your body. I have been mega mega diaspponted with Lush recently. I got Elsie 6 bath bombs for Chrsitmas, and none of them fizzed up like they used to! I remember using them in my early 20’s and loving them … but they are just a bit .. crap now – which is a big surprise as there is a LOT of love for Lush on other blogs. Ah well. Saves me money I guess! If anyone has any GOOD bath bomb products, please let me know as poor old Elsie loves a bath bomb but they are all such a disappointment. Repurchase? No, definitely not. And, apart from the in shower Body Conditioner and the lip scrub, I won’t be buying anything from Lush for a while either 😦

Skincare:

Charlotte Tilbury Multi-Miracle Glow £45.00 John Lewis or Charlotte Tilbury online – I was so excited to get this back last year, as CT could do no wrong! And, like the Lush shower gel, for the first month or so, I loved it. Then the smell got a bit overwhelming. Then the texture got on my nerves. Then I looked at my skin and thought ‘what exactly are you doing for me for £45?’. Hence, now – I’m not fussed about this at all. The smell is very strong, so not one for those who don’t like fragrance; it is a kind of rose/neroli (?!) scent with a definite undertone smell of plastic. Yes plastic. The texture is a jelly/gel kind of thing. It spreads easily around the face and rubs in well (although it did sting a tiny bit in my eyes). I used this as my second PM cleanse, so I can’t comment on makeup removal. I also never used it as a mask either. All in all, after initial ‘wowness’ – I’m a bit gutted that I spent £45 on this. Repurchase? No, there are far far more superior cleansers – even on the high street. This isn’t worth the money, in my opinion. 

First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads x60 £18.26 http://www.beautybay.com – Another blogger inspired purchase. These are convenient acid exfoliating pads with Lactic, Glycolic and Hyaluronic Acids that are alcohol free and safe for sensitive skin; you use these instead of a scrubby exfoliator. Personally, I didn’t really ‘get’ these. They’ve been hanging around in my collection for a while and I just wanted them gone! I don’t think they really did anything for my skin – whereas the Aveda Exfoliating toner and the Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion does; this may be to do with the fact that my skin prefers Salicylic Acid rather than Glycolic. These are safe for sensitive skins, but the first time I used them there was a bit of a sting – which is fine, but something to bear in mind. These would be perfect for people just getting in to acid toning – you can get a pack of 28 pads for £9.96 from Beauty Bay as a starting point. Acid toner goes after cleansing and before spritz hydrating toner (if you’re new to acids, just once a day with the acid is fine) Repurchase? No – my skin prefers the Aveda and Clinique and I see better results with those than the FAB pads. 

Origins Make A Difference Plus + Rejuvenating Treatment £35.00 Boots or Origins (Origins do good free samples and offers)– I think this is my third tub of this night cream – I love it. It is a very light gel texture, but so so hydrating. I apply this last of all before bed and it sinks in well and doesn’t leave a mark on my pillowcase. The smell is fresh, cucumber and fruity – right up my street. If you have dry skin this would be great, or if you have irritated and blemish prone skin this is also excellent. I first purchased this when my skin was going bonkers with cystic acne, spots and general bumps/lumps and I used this religiously every night (alternated with Clarins Oil for combination skin) and voila – skin sorted. It is one of the few night creams that actually feels like it is doing something (although you can use it as a day cream too). I can’t recommend the Make A Difference Range enough. Repurchase? Yes, definitely – and I have just purchased the specific Night Moisturiser in this range, the Make A Difference Overnight Hydrating Repair Cream. 

Estee Lauder NightWear Plus Anti-Oxidant Night Detox Cream £46.00/50ml (mine is a 5ml sample size) Boots, Estee Lauder (good freebies) or John Lewis – This was part of the amazing Christmas offer that EL did. Although this was only a little sample, I got about 10 days worth of use out of it and I really really loved it. The scent is beautiful – light cucumber scent. It is similar in texture to the Origins one above (and Origins is owned by EL …) and it really made my skin feel smooth. I have no idea about the ‘detox’ claims, but it is a very very nice night moisturiser. Purchase full size? When I’ve used up my new Origins Night Cream, then I will look at buying this one. 

Estee Lauder Advanced Time Zone Age Reversing Line/Wrinkle Eye Cream £55.00/50ml (mine is a 3ml sample size) Boots, Estee Lauder or Feel Unique – This was a nice eye cream that sunk in well and was good on my sensitive eyes. I used this nightly and got about 10 days use out of it. Obviously, it is a teeny sample, so I have no comment on the anti-aging results at all but on the EL website and other sites, there are some fabulous reviews on this product, so I am a little intrigued and tempted …. Purchase full size? Oooh… maybe when my other eye creams run out. Having read the reviews, this sounds like an amazing product! A little more research is needed …. 

GlamGlow Thirsty Mud Hydrating Treatment £33.95/50g http://www.allbeauty.com (mine is a 15g sample size) – I got this from Look Fantastic I think when I ordered a load of other stuff. I’d never tried any GlamGlow products before, despite the fact that they are so cult and so raved about, so I was intrigued. It came in a little set of three (I’ve not used the other two yet as they are actual scrub exfoliators, so I’m a little nervous of them), but this one isn’t a physical scrub at all. It is a thick, gorgeous smelling, cream designed for dehydrated skin. In the 15g tube I’ve got about 4 uses, so the 50g tub will last you a while; the allbeauty price is amazing as on other sites this is £49. This mask is definitely hydrating and my skin felt amazing afterwards. I left it on for about 15 minutes, it didn’t sting/burn/irritate and I washed off with a warm flannel. The result was soft, smooth, hydrated, plump skin. Purchase full size? Yes, I am definitely going to buy this – it hydrated like none of my other masks (and I love the other hydrating masks I have, so that tells you something!). 

Makeup: 

Korres Lip Butter in Jasmine £8.00 Waitrose, Feel Unique, Look Fantastic, Amazon or ASOS – These lip butters smell AMAZING! Korres are an amazing brand: Greek based, all natural and no nasties – their shower gels are also fabulous. This lip butter is moisturising and provides a beautiful tint too. Jasmine doesn’t smell like jasmine – it smells like toffee – and the colour is a soft, pink sheen on the lips. I’ve also had Guava (almost colourless gloss) and Quince (brighter pink) – both of which are beautiful and leave lips feeling moisturised and soft. There is no petroleum or mineral oil in these either – so ditch the Vaseline and buy one of these! Repurchase? Yes, I think I might go for Pomegranate – a coral colour – perfect for summer. 

L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper in Medium/Dark £5.99 Boots – This is my Hall of Fame eye brow product. I’ve had it for about 6 months and it has finally dried up – I use it every day. I have full, bushy eye brows that need a bit of taming, with a few light/blondish hairs that need darkening up – this product does the job perfectly. I’m not in to manicured eyebrows and straight lines at all – the more natural the better and I’m lucky that I have a strong natural brow. This product has tiny fibers in it that fill in any gaps, and coloured gel that covers any light hairs and keeps them in place all day. The wand is tiny and the perfect size (not with a ball on the end, Maybelline! – why?!). I brush it through when I put my makeup on and it stays all day without giving me hard, crispy brows. If you want a brow product but can’t be faffed with drawing brows on or any of that madness, then this is the product for you. I’ve even got one for my Mum. Repurchase? I already have – and they’ve changed the packaging to a silver tube, so look for that in Boots. 

No7 Midnight Lash Mascara in Black £13.50 Boots – This was sent to my by Boots to try out. I am very picky when it comes to mascaras and I know what I like. The brush is a bristle brush and I quite like the shape of it – some thicker parts and some narrower bits. The mascara, from doing some research, is all about producing the blackest lashes ever – which is kind of what you want if you buy a black mascara right? … Not sure why that should be a ‘special’ element of a mascara. I did like it, but as with all No7 mascaras, I found that it flaked off during the day. The tube also dried out very quickly – far quicker than any other mascara I own. I love the packaging and the sparkly tube, but for £13.50, I don’t think this is worth the money. Purchase? No – I prefer others – the L’Oreal Lash Sculpt or the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascaras are much much better and are cheaper.

Perfume:

20160215_100926

Chanel Chance EDP 50ml £68.00 Debenhams or Boots – This is my favourite perfume in the world. Ever. If I could only choose one scent for the rest of my life, this would be it. I think this is about the 8th bottle I’ve had of this and I love it. It is such a recognisable scent and people still comment on it all the time. The EDP (which I always buy) lasts such a long time and I can still smell it at the end of the day. I only use two pumps so it is great value for money. I’ve smelt the new versions of Chance, but for me it is still all about the original version. Repurchase? Without a doubt. I’m hanging on for Duty Free at the airport in March! 

Versace Eros Pour Femme EDP sample – 50ml/£44.95 allbeauty.com – I think this comes in the tackiest bottle ever and I was not expecting to like it at all, but actually I loved this scent! The sample size was 1ml, so teeny tiny, but it was definitely enough to fall in love with it. It is described as a floral, woody and musk based scent – I really like woody and musk based scents, so that is probably why this appeals to me. The price on allbeauty is very reasonable for a 50ml EDP too, so I’ll be keeping my eye on that! Purchase full size? It’s on my list! 

Valentino Uomo EDT sample 50ml/£40.80 escentual.com – Ok, confession time. I totally didn’t realise that this was for men until I just googled it to get the price! I feel a bit ridiculous now as Uomo means man – obviously … Duh! I just google image searched Uomo and it came up with loads of pictures of David Gandy.. haha. I was wearing the sample! I knew I liked quite woody, masculine scents, but I think that is pushing it a bit. Is it? Apparently, the scent is bergamot, coffee and leather – hmm. Bergamot features in almost all of my favourite scents, so maybe that is why I like it. I honestly couldn’t tell! I’m not sure what that says about the scent – is it feminine? Or me? Am I a bit of a bloke?! … Anyway – I like it! Purchase full size? I will do a bit more research about it – and I’m not sure I can actually bring myself to wear a mens fragrance, knowing it is a mens fragrance … but maybe! 

So, after that slightly embarrassing confession, I’m done!

Hope that was interesting to read. My picks would be: Origins Moisturiser and the L’Oreal Brow Artist …

Happy shopping!

X

 

 

 

One thought on “Empties #7 …

Leave a Reply

