Budget · Make Up

Five New Things …

I cannot tell you how many virtual shopping bags I fill online – every single day. Right now, my Feel Unique shopping bag contains 235.87 worth of stuff I want! House of Fraser is at 189.99 and SpaceNK is 256.45 …. I know. I have a problem. But I will not be purchasing any of that as I am saving for my hols and instead I’ll be hitting Sephora, Ulta, Walgreens, Target and Duty Free! Why don’t we have Sephora over here?! .. Probably just as well really!

Anyway – things stay in my basket for a long time before I take the plunge – sometimes months and months. If they’re not in the online basket or dreams, they are on my list on my phone. Currently, I have two lists – a UK Beauty Want List (yes, that is actually what it is called) with 26 things on it. The USA list has 25 things on it (all things we cannot get in this country). I think I might need to pack a separate bag…

This five new things post contains four of the things from my UK Beauty Want List. Two of the items only spent a few days,or maybe a week on the list. I couldn’t resist. The other two are higher end and one has spent about nine months on the list I think … the other about 3 months. I find it a lot easier to spend money on budget products from the list than higher end. I don’t want to waste my money so I am much more cautious at splurging on costly items. The two higher end products were also blogger inspired purchases – I’d read such amazing things about them on other blogs I read that I felt like I was missing out! Of course, you know me, I waited for a discount code/sale/free shipping and voila – they were mine. Two items scrubbed off of the Want List.

And I have to say – I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE all of these products and thoroughly recommend them – both budget and high end. This was a good shopping day!

20160215_110931

Bourjois City Radiance Foundation in 01 Ivory Rose £9.99 Boots (3 for 2 on Bourjois at the moment) – This foundation has blown me away! This was on The List for about a week … I got this at about the same time as the Chanel Les Beiges foundation (lovely but £36!) and I have to be honest, I’ve reached for this far far more than I have the Chanel. This is a light/medium buildable coverage that gives you a gorgeous dewy glow – it makes my skin look healthy. I love this so much that I’ve been wearing it virtually every day since I got it (about 4 weeks ago). It has SPF30 which is amazing for a high street foundation, and it is meant to brighten skin and give it a radiance – and it definitely does that. I love it. It is one I am taking away on holiday and I just know it will be perfect in the hot weather. I apply with a damp Real Techniques beauty sponge and most days I’ve not been using concealer as, even though my redness/pimples have still been there, my skin just looks healthy. And no caked on foundation. What’s not to love?!

Becca Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Champagne Pop £32 SpaceNK or Cult Beauty (there is a waitlist on CB) – This was on The List for about three months until I couldn’t bear it any longer! I’d been watching YouTube tutorials and bloggers raving about this highlighter and I just had to have it! Jaclyn Hill is a USA based makeup artist and general YouTube makeup guru – if you can get over how fast she talks, she is a very knowledgeable lady about makeup. I’ve been watching her tutorials/reviews for a while and love them, so when she got together with Becca (Queen of shimmery highlights!) the result was Champagne Pop – that the makeup world went crazy for. Now, I didn’t need this. And I restrained for ages. But, to be perfectly honest, I am so glad I finally went for it. It is a bit of a cult product and I think it might be limited edition (not sure …) and I use highlighter every single day, so I thought – why not? Some cult/raved about products I don’t bother with (the Urban Decay and Gwen Stafani palettes don’t interest me at all) but this is a winner. It is a gold based powder highlighter that is pretty intense, so you only need a tiny bit on the tops of cheekbones/tip of the nose/cupids bow. It makes your face glow. There is no other word for it. If you like glowy skin then you need this – it is on a waiting list in some places, so if you can/want it – get it asap.

 

Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer in Fair Neutral £17.50 House of Fraser/John Lewis/Feel Unique (out of stock at the mo) – This was another one that had been on The List for nine months or so. I just didn’t know if I needed another high end concealer. I love the NARS Creamy Concealer so much for covering spots; the Bobbi Brown serum corrector/concealer for under eyes, as well as the Origins Plantscription Brightening Concealer for under eyes too – did I really need another?! I have a bit of a problem with high street concealers unfortunately … I don’t think I’ve found one that is really any good. I like the Seventeen one for under eyes, but for blemishes/redness I just haven’t been happy with any one I’ve bought from the high steet (the way over-hyped Collection Lasting Perfection, Rimmel Wake Me Up, Rimmel Match Perfection, Bourjois Healthy Mix – you name it, I didn’t like it). So, apart from NARS for covering my zits, that’s all I’ve found that cuts it – until now! Yay! This one is fabulous at covering spots – I really really like it. It is creamy but not cakey. It has good coverage and a little goes a long way. The shade range is decent and whilst I know it is high end, the £17.50 price tag is cheaper than NARS which is £22.

20160215_111122

L-R – Bourjois City Radiance, UD Naked Concealer and Becca Champagne Pop

20160215_111100

T-B (thought I’d put a few different light pictures in) Bourjois City Radiance, UD Naked Concealer, Becca Champagne Pop

Bourjois Smoky Stories Quad Eyeshadow Palette in 12 Sau-Mondaine £7.99 Boots – This is such a good little eyeshadow palette! If you want some neutral shadows but don’t want t big palette then this is ideal for you. The shadows are excellent, apart from the silver/highlight shade in the centre which takes a lot of work to make it smooth and I don’t use it at all – it is far too grainy, gritty and glittery for a highlight in my opinion (see swach below). The other three though are all I’ve been reaching for for the past few weeks. The peach shade is lovely all over the lid as a base colour and then I go over with the lighter grey colour and blend it together, then the darkest grey/brown in the crease and a little along the lower lash line. It looks like you’ve bothered to do something, but it isn’t over the top or too dressy for daytime. I only every use neutral shades during the day so this is perfect to put in my makeup bag in my handbag for on the go touch ups. I’ve never used a Bourjois mini palette before but I am impressed and have my eye on the darker smoky one.

20160215_111234

L’Oreal False Lash Sculpt Mascara in Black £9.99 Boots (3 for 2 on L’Oreal) – The more I keep trying mascaras from the high street, the less I want to use my ol’ faithful Lancome Hypnose! The high street keep getting better and better and I keep finding my new favourite! Now, I still absolutely love Maybelline Lash Sensational, L’Oreal Miss Manga, Max Factor False Lash Effect and Max Factor Masterpiece Max mascaras, but I can’t resist a new release! I had an Advantage Card voucher for L’Oreal mascaras so I go this – and it is awesome.

20160208_114820

The brush is a rubber one, which I like and only has bristles on one side. The idea behind it is that you can get the rubber brush right up to the lash line and ‘tightline’ the upper lash line with product … kind of giving an effect of lining the lashes as well. Now, I cannot do eyeliner – my eyes just water and I have shaky hands so that is the worst combination ever for eyeliner! This mascara though, does let me get the product as close to my lash line as I can, therefore giving the black colour right at the lash line – making lashes appear fuller and blacker. For someone who is never going to ‘get’ eyeliner – it’s fabulous! The little rubber ‘spikes’ (what is that word?) almost combs product through the lashes. The actual product lasts well on me, keeps a curl all day and isn’t a bugger to get off. It gives my lashes some separation and volume and isn’t as clumpy as the Maybelline Lash Sensational or L’Oreal Miss Manga. Here come the photos …

20160208_113946

Left is after eye lash curlers and two coats, right is before with no curl or mascara. 

20160208_113925

20160208_114200

As you can hopefully see – they are curly, no too clumpy, thick with volume and the black colour goes all the way up to the lash line (as far as it is going to get anyway!). If you are someone who can line their eyes with liner then you probably won’t need this, but for me – this is the best it is going to get, and I like the result. I think this mascara has taken the top spot for the moment! Lancome Hypnose who?! …

What should you buy? … Bourjois City Radiance Foundation and the L’Oreal Mascara.

If you fancy splashing the cash and you are a lover of highlighters – you will not be disappointed with the Becca X Jaclyn Hill I promise!

Thanks for reading.

X

 

Leave a Reply

