Uncategorized

New Budget Lip Loves …

I love a lip product. I cannot believe I wasted so many years being too scared to wear matte products, or bright colours, or use a lip liner. What was I doing?! Step back about seven years or so and my lip products would have consisted of clear glosses and the VERY odd (like one or two) No7 lipsticks in a nude shade (the wrong nude for me – the ones that make you look dead) that I never, ever wore as I wasn’t sure about them. 2015 was the year of the lips for me. And thank goodness I discovered colour – I rarely go a day without wearing something bright on my lips, and – thankfully – I now know what kinds of nudes (pinky toned) suit me, so I no longer look like a bumped off character from Midsomer Murders (even though, those who know me will know – I’d LOVE to be an extra on MM. My favourite TV programme EVER!).

Anyway. I own quite a few high end, pricier lip products and I love them (Chanel, NARS, MAC etc.) however, the high street have SO upped their game recently and do some cracking lip products – which strangely, I find myself picking from my lip drawer more than I do the higher end ones…

20160212_144452

These products shown are all new to me – some are also new to the high street too. Like I’ve mentioned before, I rarely buy high street products without some kind of offer on. I got these when there were offers on the brands (usually 2 for 12 or 3 for 2). I have to say that I love all of them – every single one. They are amazing quality and there is something for everyone. I didn’t really read many reviews on the products – they were all kind of impulse purchases. I did Google swatches of the NYX products though, as they had to be ordered online as the Boots/Superdrug on the Isle of Wight don’t stock NYX. There are no fails though – I love them all!

 L’Oreal Paris Infallible Gloss Mafia Gloss CREAM 104 – £6.99 Boots/Superdrug (3for2 in Boots/Free Gift offer in Superdrug) – I’m not normally a fan of sticky glosses, and this is quite sticky (so avoid if you’re not big on that) but I quite like this. It is the top swatch on my hand. A lovely bright pink that does feel moisturising on the lips. It lasts a few hours, so it isn’t hugely long lasting .. but it is just a nice basic gloss. It does smell like Play Doh though, so not for you if you’re not a fan of heavily scented products. It has a really nice applicator too – a bit like a wide ‘V’ shape, so the lips fit nicely in to it. I don’t need a mirror to apply this.
L’Oreal Infallible Matte Max Lipstick in 004 Oops I Did It Again £6.99 Boots/Superdrug (3for2 in Boots/Free Gift offer in Superdrug) – This is a strange one! It is like a powder, matte stain – I’m not sure I’d call it a lipstick to be honest. The applicator is a sponge and the product is a powder in the lid. Weird. However, I like this because it is the opposite of the one above and not remotely sticky – it’s not even at all wet; it is a dry powder. I apply this either directly on to the lips (although that is mega drying, because the second you put lip balm on the top the matte goes), or I prefer applying this over lip balm because then the matte effect stays and lasts. The only problem I have with this is that the sponge applicator is quite wide for lips so you do need a mirror to apply and check. Apart from that, I’ve not seen anything like this from any other brand and I like it!

Bourjois Colour Boost Glossy Finish Lipstick  in 04 Peach on the Beach and 07 Proudly Naked – £7.99 Boots (3 for 2) – Ooooh I love these! I am a huge huge Bourjois fan at the best of times and these are gorgeous. These are part of the new spring release from Bourjois and they are perfect for spring and summer – I’m taking them on my hols in a few weeks. The top swatch is the Peach and the bottom is the Naked shade. They are more like a balm than a lipstick, but they do have good pigmentation. They are so glossy and moisturising, you don’t need a mirror and they smell nice. They are very buttery and soft to apply. The lasting time is a few hours, but because they are so moisturising I don’t really care about that. Naked is my perfect pinky nude shade and Peach is a gorgeous, bright coral/peach – both of them really freshen up my face when I apply them.

 

Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Matte Lip 3D Colour and Sculpt in Chocoberry (top swatch) and Pretty Muted (bottom swatch) £3.50 Boots – These are an absolute bargain! I couldn’t believe they were only £3.50 as they are so good! This would be a great introduction to a matte lip for someone who is a little bit scared and doesn’t want to pay much. They are very easy to apply and wear and they are no too drying on the lips (you could apply on top of balm to ease any dryness). The wear time on me is about 4 hours, so not bad for such a bargain product. As as side note, I’ve tried the regular S&G crayons and didn’t like them – these matte ones are so much better. Chocoberry is a darker pinky nude shade and Pretty Muted is a much paler pinky nude – perfect for day wear or at work.

NYX Butter Gloss in (left to right in first photo – 18 Cupcake, 15 Angel Food Cake, 03 Peaches and Cream, 05 Creme Brulee) £5.00 each Boots – I had to order these online as our Boots is rubbish and doesn’t stock NYX, so some serious Google swatch searching went on! The Boots website colour comparisons are not great, so I’d definitely recommend doing some research. I was pretty happy with the colours I ended up with – and the sites I found via Google were true to colour. These glosses are a fabulous price for a gloss that feels much more high end. They aren’t as sticky as the L’Oreal one above and there are so many different colours to choose from. The glosses aren’t as heavily scented as L’Oreal either, and last about 2-3 hours on my lips. I don’t bother with a mirror to reapply, so they are great for chucking in your bag (which is wear mine all live!).

20160212_145429

Above from top to bottom: Angel Food Cake, Peaches and Cream, Creme Brulee and Cupcake

Angel Food Cake is a darker brown/pink nude colour. Peaches and Cream is a bright peach/coral. Creme Brulee (the most famous of the NYX glosses) is a creamy pale nude and Cupcake is a more Barbie bright pink. The pigmentation isn’t amazing, but you can definitely tell the colour on the lips so that’s good enough for me. I put these on when I don’t want to faff about with a labour intensive lip product (like the L’Oreal powder thingy above which requires more time/effort). These are so perfect for touch ups during the day and they are all coming on my hols with me!

Pixi by Petra Lip Lift Max in Petal Ice £12.00 http://www.pixibeauty.co.uk – I got this as I’d seen a review of in online and then I had an offer code on my Marks & Spencer Sparks card on beauty come through, so I got 20% off too. I wanted this because it contains peptides which are great for the lips, conditioning and moisturising. It is a hydrating, plumping translucent gloss (though it is pinky in the tube, it doesn’t translate on to the lips). I think it is a much kinder, nicer, more moisturising version of Soap and Glory Mother Pucker zingy lip gloss stuff (which makes your lips tingle and feel like they are itchy, in my opinion). This feels nicer, more grown up! I apply this alone when I’m pottering about, or over any lip stick for a bit of gloss. It has a lovely minty scent which I love and I like the shine it gives to my lips – whilst knowing it is being kind to them too.

Ok – that’s all the lip products I purchased on my little lip haul! I do have some other lip things to show you from Superdrug, but they will be up on another post.

Buy one thing? … Tough one … but the Bourjois Lip Crayons I think. Or the NYX Butter Glosses. Ah I can’t decide!

Thanks for reading

X

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

