Bodycare · Candles · Make Up · Nails · Skincare

Not Worth The Hype …

… in my opinion!

There are certain products that get a lot of hype – some rightly so, others – not so much. I am quite guilty of falling for the hype. If there is a product that is touted as being amazing by every single person … (advertising/sponsored posts aside) then it will intrigue me and I’ll start researching more about it. I don’t normally just jump and buy stuff. I research bad reviews, good reviews, YouTube posts, ingredient lists etc. before I take the plunge. At the end of the day though, I like trying things out and making up my own mind; you are never going to 100% know if you like a product until you actually try it – no matter how many reviews you read and watch. And sometimes, things don’t work out quite as you’d hoped – as this post demonstrates!

20160222_145337

Now, before I start, these products are all nice products. I like them. I just wasn’t ‘wowed’ by them, and they all come with quite a lot of hype/love online. Obviously, I paid for everything myself with my own money (unless it was a gift for Xmas from family/friends), so it is my money that I think about when considering if the product is worth the hype. Some of these products could/probably will appear in a disappointed post at some point in the future because generally, I was just disappointed. I don’t know if I expected too much or if the products just weren’t that great. I dunno.

The other point to make is that this is not a ‘brand bashing’ post in the slightest. I have other products from these brands that I love, love, love. I’ll mention them at the end if you fancy still trying something from the actual brand but want to pass on the ones I feature in this post. Remember too, my face skin type is dry/normal, my skin tone is pinky/pale/porcelain and I don’t suffer with dry skin on my body. What I thought was over hyped for me, you might feel is very deserving of it’s status!

So, in my opinion – save your cash and don’t bother with these!

20160222_145509

Kiehl’s Creme de Corps 250ml £27 SpaceNK – This packaging is Limited Edition (maybe that influenced my purchase?!) and I’d read so much about this body moisturiser so I splurged in the January 2015 sales … and it is just a moisturiser. Nothing special. It smells ok – again, nothing amazing. The only thing going for it is it doesn’t contain mineral oil, so maybe better for those with seriously dry skin, but I can get away with MO body moisturisers from Garnier, Dove etc. and they are MUCH cheaper. This one also takes quite a bit of work to rub in which is annoying; I just don’t find myself reaching for it over the Garnier ones. Instead, you could try: Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado – I’ve used and like for hydrating eyes. 

20160222_145541

MVOrganics Rose Soothing Protective Moisturiser 70ml £77.00 http://www.cultbeauty.co.uk – I got this as part of a set (that wasn’t £77.00!) about 18 months ago and to be honest, I don’t know what I was thinking as I hate the scent of rose! It came with the Rose Mist Toner which was ok again. MV Organics, if you are only wanting to use organic skincare, is probably right up your alley – but I’m not that bothered. This is just a bit meh. It’s quite rich and takes some work to rub in, but the smell… eurgh. There is a lot of hype about MV Organics, and judging by this and the mist, I don’t get it. I’m quite interest in trying their Instant Revival Booster oil, but I’m not that interested if you know what I mean?! Instead, you could try: umm… I’ve only tried those two products and I wouldn’t recommend them – so nothing! 

Alpha H Liquid Gold 50ml/£15 http://www.cultbeauty.co.uk – This is a try-me-size that I got from a Cult Beauty box last year, although I have bought two 100ml bottles of this from QVC over the years. Has there ever been a more hyped up product?! Liquid Gold is one of the most talked about, reviewed products ever. I bowed down to the hype about four years ago and got a TSV (Today’s Special Value) set from QVC and kept it – it was ok. I didn’t see anything like the amazing, life changing results that were talked about. It is a Glycolic Treatment Liquid that you put on at night and it resurfaces the skin and you wake up looking about 15 years younger and like a goddess. Hmm. It stung like hell the first few weeks I used it (you use it about 3 nights a week) and I didn’t see anything different in the morning. I finished the bottle and then about two years later, I got another bottle. Same thing again; I think I gave the remainder of that away. Then, I got this free and I’m not even going to bother using it. I get better results using my Aveda or Clinique exfoliating toners – much cheaper and kinder to the skin. I think my skin just prefers Salicylic Acid – not Glycolic that is in Liquid Gold. Shame really. Instead, you could try: Alpha H Daily Essential Moisturiser SPF50 or Balancing Cleanser – both used and loved by me – with those, I get the hype! 

Clinique Sweet Pot Scrub and Lip Balm £13.50 John Lewis or £15 Boots/Clinique – Well, I am SO disappointed at these. I got two of them a few months ago and having been on the email list to be notified when they came out, I was expecting something amazing. The hype surrounding these was off the scale – obviously loads of bloggers had been given them prior to their release and every Tom, Dick and Harry loved and raved about them. Now, don’t get me wrong, these are a great lip balm and the scrub is nice and effective too, but … there’s just something missing I think! They had such potential to be gorgeous, cute, effective must-haves and they just aren’t. To be honest, although it goes against Clinique’s ethos, I think they would have benefited massively from having a scent – nothing overpowering or sickly, but just something lovely and subtle. I just don’t really want to use them – I pass them by in favour of my much nicer smelling lipbalms. Maybe I’m just being fickle!? Anyway – for the price and the hype, I was expecting a lot lot more. Instead, you could try: Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion or Clinique Take The Day Off Balm – both used by me regularly and repurchased multiple times. 

Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm £9.50 M&S or http://www.escentual.comAgain, this is my second pot of this – god knows why. I remember using the first one and thinking ‘what is all the fuss about?’ … but I used it up about 18 months ago. I went about 6 months without it and kept reading reviews about how this was everyone’s Holy Grail lipbalm – so I tried again. And still – I do not get it! It is more of a treatment lipbalm – very thick and quite grainy (which is weird). I use this at night and it really takes some work to get it in to/on to the lips. I’m not crazy about the honey-like scent and I don’t honestly feel that it moisturises my lips all that well either. The only thing I do like about it is that it is matte – why are there not more matte lip balms around? Sometimes you need a matte lip balm under a lipstick or Steve needs one, working outside in the freezing cold – that is the only plus point about this. Definitely pass and try Burts Bees instead. Instead you could try: Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Multi-Usage Dry Oil (and the shimmer one too) – I love this stuff and always take it on holiday. 

Tom Ford Lips & Boys Lip Colour in 54 Austin £27.00 John Lewis – This was a Christmas present and one I had asked for – which I’m a bit gutted about now… I’d heard SO much about Tom Ford lip products and agonised for ages about which one I wanted. They are so damn expensive and the lipstick is tiny (which I did know when asking for it – that’s not the over-hyped bit), but I was expecting the quality to blow me away. And it didn’t. The colour is gorgeous – a kind of nude pink colour which I love, but the formula is so grainy and just not smooth to apply at all. I was quite shocked – when I first applied it it reminded me of a red lipstick I’d had years ago from MUA that I’d got for £1 in Superdrug! I don’t know if I got a duff one or whether this is the formula, or whether other colours are better, but for twenty-bloody-seven-quid I was not impressed. I’d love to know others’ thoughts on these lippies as I’m intrigued/sad about them really. My first foray in to Tom Ford has not been a good one! Instead you could try: no idea – this was my first (and maybe last?!) purchase … although the eye quads have amazing reviews too but at £64 I don’t think I can bring myself to do it! 

Charlotte Tilbury Lip Lustre in Portobello Girl and Blondie £16.50 John Lewis or http://www.charlottetilbury.com – When the CT makeup range first hit stores – the world went crazy. I remember thinking ‘OMG, I must have this, that and that’ … and I did place a few orders and I did find some stuff I liked, but now the hype around the brand has died down a bit, more negative reviews of certain products are materialising and things don’t look as glowing as they did. I have some CT gems that are products that I will repurchase forever more, but I’ve also got some crap ones. These lip glosses are rubbish. They are sticky, clumpy, not especially pigmented, don’t last well and the formula goes off very quickly. Blondie has already separated and Portobello Girl seems to be loosing it’s colour … weird. I know they have 6 month shelf life mark on the bottom, but for the price, I wouldn’t expect them to instantly degrade once they hit the 6 month mark! Anyway, I used these a lot when I first got them – now, I barely reach for them at all. My NYX Butter Glosses are so much better and so much cheaper. Instead, you could try: CT Flawless Airbrush Powder or Filmstar Bronze & Glow Palette, or CT Luxury Eyeshadow Palette in The Dolce Vita or CT Lip Cheat Pillow Talk Lipliner – all of these were purchased by me and are loved by me; I use them all the time and thoroughly recommend. 

20160222_150153

(T-B – Tom Ford Austin, CT Portobello Girl, CT Blondie)

(Top – CT, bottom – Maybelline)

Charlotte Tilbury The Retoucher Conceal & Treat Stick£25.00 John Lewis or http://www.charlottetilbury.comI read so much about this concealer and was very excited about the fact that it claimed to conceal blemishes and treat them at the same time- what’s not to love!? Unfortunately, this was another CT fail. This concealer is very thin and watery and barely covered any of my spots. It was no different to putting YSL Touche Eclat on spots – it doesn’t work. YSL Touche Eclat is an illuminating concealer for brightening under eyes – but this didn’t do that either. It was a big disappointment and I honestly don’t know how anyone with ‘real’ spots could tout this as a cult product; definitely not worth the hype and a waste of (a lot of) money.  Instead you could try: see above for the list of CT products I recommend. 

Maybelline Instant Anti-Age The Eraser Eye Perfect & Cover Concealer £7.99 Boots – Every man and his dog has raved about this concealer at some point – you can barely watch a YT tutorial without this being mentioned. I was excited as this is a high-street purchase and if it worked, a decent budget concealer. But sadly, no – not for me. The sponge thing on the end is massive and I find it quite difficult to work with. Also, this is designed to cover under-eye bags/darkness – which, for me, it just doesn’t! It looks cakey, creases almost instantly (even with powder) and is very very yellow toned – which doesn’t work well with my pale, pink toned skin. I just can’t get on with this at all and I don’t understand the hype at all. Instead, you could try: Maybelline Colour Tattoo eye shadows or Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara – both products are amazing and ones I use all the time; some of the best high-street buys! 

20160222_150420

Yankee Candles (any size/range) – Now, this is controversial! I do not understand the hype around Yankee Candles. I’ve tried time and time again to ‘like’ them and feel ‘ok’ with parting with huge amounts of cash for a candle … but I can’t. Spending money on a cleanser, toner or lipstick is fine with me – I see the benefit or enjoy the wearing, but candles? No. And specifically, the much loved but over-hyped, crazily expensive YC’s. I find most of the scents (about 80%) of the ones I’ve smelt, sickly and not pleasant. I actually have a £30 voucher for YC that I got for xmas and I haven’t spent it because every time I go and smell them to try and choose one, I don’t like any of them! I’d much rather go and buy a cheap one from Tesco to be honest. I don’t know if it is just candles in general that I find to be over-hyped (Jo Malone, Neom, The White Company etc.) or whether it is specifically Yankee Candles. I have purchased two White Company candles before at a stupid price (and they were in an outlet shop an discounted!) but I dunno – there is something a bit obscene about spending that on something you burn…

This Works Deep Pillow Spray 5ml sample 75ml/£16.00 http://www.beautybay.com or http://www.lookfantastic.comI was skeptical before I even tried this. I got it in a Beauty Box from SpaceNK, so didn’t purchase it with my money, but I was considering it! When I tried this out, I don’t know what I was expecting, but it didn’t happen. I don’t normally have trouble sleeping, but these last few months since we lost Freddie, sleep has been an issue. I had some lovely sleeping tablets from the Dr but I didn’t want to rely on them so I only took them once a week – therefore, I was the perfect candidate to trial this spray. You’re meant to spray it on your pillow before you sleep and the lavender is meant to calm and help you get to sleep. Hmm. Well, apart from making my pillow a bit wet, this is zilch. Nothing. Nada. I do not get the hype! Any of the big beauty bloggers always rave about this and it seems like such a gimmick to me. We all know lavender has been a calming herb – but a spray to make you sleep? No. Don’t waste your money people! Instead, you could try: This Works In Transit Camera Close Up Mask, Moisturiser & Primer – the perfect multi-tasker; love this product and ideal if you’re trying to make the pounds go a bit further as it is a moisturiser/primer in one. 

Other products I no longer have but I have used and think they are also NOT worth the hype:

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer ‎£4.19 Boots – Raved about by the whole damn world and it did absolutely nothing for me whatsoever. Very disappointed and waaaay overhyped.

Charlotte Tilbury Magic Cream £70.00 John Lewis – I had a sample of this and used it for about three weeks. It was thick, gunky and horrible to work with. I didn’t like makeup over the top of it and for that price, I wanted miracles!

Bioderma £10.50 http://www.escentual.com Over-priced and over-hyped makeup remover. Any micellar water should do the same really. I much prefer the Garnier one (with the pink lid) or the La Roche Posay one.

Origins GinZing Energy Boosting Moisturiser £21.60 Boots – This was such a wet texture that it took ages to dry on my face. It left a slimy film and makeup didn’t sit right on it at all. The smell was nice but it didn’t make my face feel any more awake/alive/less-dead than any other moisturiser. Not worth it.

Essie Nail Polishes £5.99 at the mo (normally £7.99) Boots– These chip like anything; on me it is usually within a day or two. They do beautiful colours and some of their treatments are nice, but the actual polishes are over priced and over hyped. Revlon Gel ones or No7 Gel ones are much better and last for ages.

Right – there is my contribution to you all to aid you wasting your money! Moral of the story – don’t believe the hype and you honestly don’t know whether something works for you until you part with your cash and try it.

Thanks for reading.

X

 

Leave a Reply

