Haircare · Make Up · Nails · Skincare

Holiday Fails …

So, as promised, my little collection of beauty bits and bobs that didn’t work out for me on holiday. Now, I took these products away in good faith – some I had used before and some I hadn’t; I wasn’t expecting not to like them. Once again, this is not a brand bashing post and you may love some of these products, but for me, in Florida on my holiday, they didn’t perform as I had hoped/expected.

20160324_140343

Sometimes, products that you use all the time at home, for whatever reason, don’t work when you’re abroad and in a different climate. For instance, my skin in the UK right now, is more normal/dry-ish; in Florida, despite the heat, it turned mega dry and needed more moisture than I’d usually use in the cold UK back home. I was expecting it to turn combination/oily, so I packed products for that … luckily I had a few bits and pieces that could be used for really dry skin. Weird though, right? Unexpected issues are what could be said about all of these products really. Most of these are going to go in the box for giving away, so if you know me ‘in real life’, watch my FB to snap these up!

Skincare:

20160324_140406

So these were my two cleanser fails ūüė¶ – which I was very disappointed about for several reasons.

The Body Shop Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter ¬£13.00 TBS – This is a product I have used for ages – this is my second tub and up until now, I’ve loved it. I had been saving this for my holiday as I knew it was an oil based cleanser that could be relied on to remove my SPF at the end of the day. However, after a few days I realised that it just wasn’t very good at it! I was a bit miffed really. It seemed to leave my skin feeling a bit ‘manky’ – like there was remnants of SPF on the skin surface, as well as a film from the cleanser too; this never happened to me in the UK. I don’t know if it was something to do with the water in Florida (it is soft water and we have very hard water on the IOW), or the SPF, or something else, but it was rubbish. I have since used this back home and I have to be honest, I still don’t like it. I think I might just have ‘grown’ out of it! I still love the Camomile Cleansing Oil from TBS – that is one of my Hall of Fame products – and I still love Clinique Take The Day Off Balm, but I don’t like this. Maybe my skin has changed slightly and it just doesn’t work for it anymore.

Tata Harper Nourishing Oil Cleanser 15ml sample size¬†¬£54.00/125ml Cult Beauty – I got this in a CB offer bag last year and boy am I glad I did – thank goodness I didn’t pay¬†¬£54 for it! I had SUCH high hopes for this as Tata Harper is a luxury, natural, pricey brand with fabulous ingredients and a lot of hype – and I was so disappointed. I use the Tata Purifying Cleanser all the time and love that, but this one was awful. As it says, it is meant to remove makeup, so when TBS butter let me down, I turned to this and it was just as useless. The first time I used it I had been wearing SPF, Liz Earle Skin Tint, NARS Orgasm Illuminator and some waterproof mascara – this barely took anything off my face. The texture is really oily (which isn’t the issue) but it just didn’t lift anything off my face. The mascara stayed where it was (despite the fact that the mascara I’m about to talk about below was rubbish!), the SPF was still there and when I eventually gave up and toned my face afterwards, the Skin Tint was on the cotton pad – so much so that I went back to the bathroom with the Philosophy Purity Made Simple and got the whole lot off with that. For such a pricey product from such an awesome brand, this was so disappointing. I’m just so glad I didn’t pay full price for it!¬†

20160324_140426

Yes To Cucumbers Soothing Facial Wipes¬†¬£3.99 Boots/Feel Unique (I got mine for¬†¬£2.99 in TK Maxx) – Now, does it or does it not say soothing on that packet? My god, these are NOT soothing! I don’t have overly sensitive skin, but these bloody things burned my face off! I bought them to use on the plane – and yes I know, I’m not a face wipe fan, but for planes you just need to. However, being as they are ‘soothing’ and ‘hypoallergenic’ and have something to do with ‘cucumbers’ and ‘aloe vera’ … one would assume that they would be¬†relatively¬†kind and gentle to the skin. Wrong. Honestly, when I¬†used them on the plane out, to take the general grim off of my face before starting my mega hydrating routine to battle the air-con, my face went red, started burning and my eyes started to run. I don’t know if it is just me that’s allergic to something in these but my god, if you have sensitive skin, avoid them like the plague! Do not be fooled by the soothing¬†business! I tried them once more in Florida, just to check, and¬†the same thing happened – so these are being passed on to someone who has skin that can take it! This has made me reconsider this Yes To range a little though … Incidentally, I bought some Aveeno wipes for the plane back and they were¬†gorgeous – soft and gentle, and I used them on my eyes with no tears – am I becoming a face wipe convert?! .. Shame the Aveeno ones aren’t available in the UK ūüė¶

Hair: 

20160324_140449

Philip Kingsley One More Day Dry Shampoo ¬£6.50 M&S/Feel Unique – I don’t really know what to say about this other than that it is complete rubbish. I bought this when it was on offer for¬†¬£3.90 I think on Look Fantastic as I wanted a dry shampoo to take away with me that wasn’t in a huge bottle – unfortunately my beloved Co-Lab only comes in the regular sized bottles. This was such a let down and pretty much aged me by about 40 years whenever I used it – it literally turned my hair grey. Far worse than Batiste ever does. It was powdery, chalky yet sticky. It weighed my hair down and I couldn’t get a brush through it. I only use dry shampoo to get one more day out of my hair before washing, but this had the complete opposite effect in that I had to go and wash my hair the second after I applied it. Completely pointless and a complete waste of time and money.

Makeup:

20160324_140515

As I said yesterday, I wore very little makeup abroad, apart from the Liz Earle Tint, NARS Illuminator and a bit of lip balm, I occasionally worse mascara. I have a love/hate relationship with waterproof mascaras as I love the way they hold a curl and don’t smudge, but I hate the absolute chore of getting it off; tugging at my lashes for half an hour is not something I enjoy. The Max Factor False Lash Effect is the only waterproof mascara I own, so it was obviously going to come away with me. The Clarins Wonder Volume was tiny enough to go in the plastic flight bag for applying just before landing at either end. They were both a waste of time …

Max Factor False Lash Effect Waterproof Mascara¬†‚Ä鬣10.99 Boots – I love the normal False Lash Effect mascara and I love Max Factor mascaras in general – some of the best on the high street. In the UK, I use waterproof mascara on a big night out or at a wedding – it holds a curl better and is waterproof enough if my frozen heart is melted for a minute at a particularly romantic moment at someones wedding and I cry -other than that, I have no use for it. It performs very well in those two situations and I have no complaints, so naively, I thought wearing it all day in sweaty Florida and when my face got splashed in a pool (I never put my head under the water), it would do ok. Wrong again. Weirdly, this mascara smudged all over my face – literally on to my brown bone, under my eyes, in the corners of my eyes, on my lids, down the side of my face. Everywhere. And that was on days when I wasn’t in a water park – that was just sweat. Lovely. In the water park when I did get splashed, the mascara was literally running down my face! Needless to say, I never wore it again. To be completely honest, I don’t wear mascara at water parks normally … I just wanted to test this out and I’m glad I did because it was rubbish. I think this will remain in the drawer at home for said weddings, nights out etc. Definitely not one for hot countries/days or anywhere near water as it is definitely not that waterproof!

Clarins Wonder Volume Mascara¬†¬£15.00 allbeauty.com (usually¬†¬£21.50 Boots/Clarins) – I cannot believe that this mascara is normally¬†¬£21.50! I used this twice on holiday, once when I reapplied SPF/makeup when I was getting off the plane in America and once when I was getting off the plane in the UK – both times the same thing happened. The mascara flaked. Everywhere. When I applied it going to Orlando, I didn’t really notice/expect it too be quite as bad as it was. It wasn’t until we’d picked up the car, driven to the villa place and then driven to the actual villa and I looked in the mirror that I saw quite how bad it was! Tonnes and tonnes of flakes all down my face. And I applied it at 6pm just before we landed and I looked in the mirror at about 9pm – so three hours and it had pretty much all flaked off. On the way back to the UK, I forgot to take it out of the little plastic bag, so I was stuck with it again, and the same thing happened. I applied it at about 7am and I checked my face on the train at about 10:30 and there it all was: I don’t think there was any product left on my actual lashes! Complete and utter rubbish and totally not worth the price tag – there are far far better mascaras on the high street (Maybelline Lash Sensational, L’Oreal Lash Sculpt or L’Oreal Miss Manga to name three).

Nails: 

20160324_140536

Elsie and I both decided to coordinate our nail colour – I mean she decided she wanted the same as me! These two polishes are ones I have used before, but they haven’t performed quite so badly, so again, maybe it was something to do with the heat/flip flop use or something, but they were both rubbish. I applied them the Sunday before we left on toes and fingers – usual process, OPI Nail Envy underneath, 2x coats of the polish and 1x Revlon Gel Top Coat, with Beauty Bay drying drops – all as normal. By Monday morning when I was getting dressed, the toes were chipped and I then noticed that three of my finger nails were cracked. By the time we got to the villa, I’d lost a complete big toe colour and every finger on my hand was chipped. I can normally go a good 5 days without chipping with my nail routine, so these were rubbish by comparison. I reapplied these colours four times during the two week holiday, to both me and Els and again and again they chipped, flaked, came off in one whole peel. I wish I’d have taken some other colours with me so I could have ditched these and gone with something new! I didn’t think to buy some new ones, for some reason … I think that these two formulas are a bit hit and miss. I’ve always had a slight issue with Nails Inc. anyway – I’ve owned four of theirs and they don’t really last well on me. Models Own is usually a bit better, but this was awful. If a polish isn’t going to last a decent 5-7 days then what is the point!? The Nails Inc Cotton Candy is in the shade King Henry’s Road is¬†¬£12.00 original price (I got mine reduced in M&S) – which I think is extortionate for such a poor quality polish! The Models Own is in Magpie and is¬†¬£4.99 from Superdrug – slightly better price point. Personally, I wouldn’t bother with either but I’d stick with No7 Gel polishes, Barry M Gelly Shine or Revlon Gel polishes – or, if you can afford it, the Chanel ones which are incredible.

Bit of a negative post, so sorry about that, but I find posts like this so useful – even if it is just to scrub things off my ever-expanding list of products I want/don’t need!

I paid for all of these things myself, unless stated as a freebie in a goodie bag where I did buy something else. And these are just my opinions after my experiences.

Thanks for reading ūüôā

X

2 thoughts on “Holiday Fails …

  1. Great post! I was going to pick those wipes up last week then I remembered what the yes to carrots eye cream did to my eyes, my under eyes came up in bright red circles, I was surprised because I thought the range would be really gentle because it’s quite natural x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I know what you mean – I automatically assumed that the Yes to range of skincare would be lovely and gentle … but these wipes were something else! Even the cheap old makeup remover wipes didn’t make my face burn. Really disappointing actually – and I’ll avoid the Yes to Carrots eye cream now too! Thanks for the heads up! ūüôā

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

