Skincare

Updated Skincare Routine – April 2016 …

Aside from high-street dupes for high end products, my skincare routine is the most asked question I get. Friends/family want to know what I use on my skin – not necessarily because it looks amazing (because it doesn’t!), but just because I’ve tried a lot of products and I’ve found some gems and some complete wastes of money: it’s good to share that info! My friends and family *seem* to trust my judgement and follow my advice – I know I’ve got a fair few of them hooked on good ol’ Hydraluron, so much so that the Boots in Newport is now always out of stock!

As I always say – these products work on my skin. I traditionally am normal/dry with occasionally oily t-zone. My skin is quite sensitive and does react to things it doesn’t like quite quickly (within a day or two). I tend to test out one product at a time so I know that if something reacts, I know what it is. All of things below I have used for a fair amount of time (some for years and years) so switching things around within my collection of normal products has no adverse reactions on my skin; it is just new products that I am cautious with.

Whilst we’re talking about reactions … my eyes. Oh god my eyes. About a week from coming home from holiday I cracked open a lovely sample of the Verso Super Eye Serum (£65.00). I had high hopes as there are some amazing reviews on it. I had been planning on purchasing the full size as soon as my two other eye creams had finished … thank god I didn’t! I applied this on my eyes in the evening and all was well. The next morning I applied my normal Hylamide Eye Serum as normal – no problems. I applied the Verso Eye cream again that night – all fine. Next morning, nothing wrong. Then, that evening, about 6pm my eyes went mental – literally streaming, stinging, itching. It was awful. I actually thought I was getting hay fever – early. Then, went I went to get some Liz Earle EyeBright to calm them down (one of the few LE products that I actually love!), I saw the Verso sample and it twigged… By the next morning, the skin under my eyes was peeling and flaking off. I’ve never had overly dry under eyes, but my god – they were awful. I didn’t really know what to do! I slathered on oils, creams, anything I knew my skin was ok with. I then remembered I had bought a tube of CeraVe Eye Cream from the USA – it’s a simple, basic, no frills but brilliant eye cream and boy, it is AWESOME! It sorted my under eyes out in about 3 days – back to normal. Combined with the Origins Eye Doctor every evening, this little duo is now firmly in my arsenal forever more.

Anyway – back to normal now thank god- however I’ve stuck to the CeraVe and Origins; I’m a bit scared to let them go just yet!

So, the products:

Evening Routine:

20160405_100633

Una Brennan Vitamin C+ Cleansing Oil // Clarins Extra-Comfort Anti-Pollution Cleansing Cream // Clarins Extra-Comfort Toning Lotion // The Body Shop Vitamin E Face Mist // Origins Eye Doctor Eye Cream // Kiehl’s Powerful Strength Line Reducing Concentrate // Institut Esthederm Intensif Hyularonic Serum // Origins Drink-Up Intensive Overnight Mask // La Roche Posay Nutritic Lip Balm

  • The cleansing oil is a great alternative to TBS Camomile Oil – nicer scent – smells like oranges. Hate the bottle though – no pump 😦
  • Clarins toner – my Hall of Fame toner – if you have dry/dehydrated skin you need this!
  • Hyularonic serum – same as Hydraluron really, but more cream/lotion than gel.
  • Origins mask – I leave this on as a night cream. Smells like mangoes – amazing for dry skin. Love this stuff.
  • LRP lip balm – really loving this. Leaves lips so smooth!

Morning Routine: 

20160405_100452

La Roche Posay Phyiological Cleansing Gel (discontinued) // Clarins Extra-Comfort Toning Lotion // The Body Shop Vitamin E Face Mist // CeraVe Eye Repair Cream // Hylamide Sub-Q Anti-Age Serum // Hydraluron // Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream // Blossom Jeju 100% Camellia Dry Oil // Burt’s Bees Ultra Conditioning Lip Balm // Zelens Daily Defence SPF30

  • The LRP cleansing gel is one I keep for dry skin/sensitive emergencies. It is amazingly cooling and gentle and non-foaming. They do a similar one now (in a blue bottle).
  • CeraVe Eye Repair Cream can be purchased on Amazon I believe … more expensive than in the USA, but as far as I know that’s the only place you can get it here.
  • Hylamide is a bit like Hydraluron but much more watery in texture. I really like using these two together.
  • I put a 2/3 drops of the Blossom Jeju Oil in to the Kiehl’s cream in the palm of my hand- just for an extra hydration shot, and this combination has been working brilliantly on my very dry skin since the holiday.
  • Zelens SPF – brilliant as a makeup base. Doesn’t peel/roll on the skin and sinks in well. SO much better than cheaper facial SPFs, in my opinion.

Add-ons: 

20160405_101026

REN Micro Polish Cleanser // Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion // Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner // Clarins Skin Repair Concentrate // Clarins Blue Orchid Face Treatment Oil 

  • REN cleanser is used once a fortnight at the moment, in the shower, as a gentle manual exfoliator – used to be once a week until my face went a bit crazy. Don’t scrub the life out of your face!
  • Clinique toner – this is a mild acid toner. I used to use daily, but since the crazy skin I’ve dropped to once a day, every 3 days. I’ll build it back up in the future.
  • Clarins Brightening Toner – this is a stronger acid exfoliant. I now use this once a week only – in the evening.
  • Clarins Repair Concentrate – I use this when my skin is red or inflamed, sensitive or reactive. Recently, that has been in the evening about three times a week. It is specifically designed for sensitive, reactive skin. Very oil-texture but sinks in well.
  • Clarins Blue Orchid Oi – always have a bottle of this trusty oil on hand. I use this when my face feels tight, uncomfortable, very dry or is breaking out. Recently, that has been about once/twice a week.

Spot/Blemish Treatments:

20160405_101232

Origins Out of Trouble Mask // Avene TriAcneal (discontinued I think) // Origins Super Spot Remover // Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Mask

  • I only use these treatments when needed – they are not a regular part of my routine.
  • Origins mask – I use this quite specifically on spotty areas or red bumps under the skin that never erupt (cystic acne – that I get along my jawline at certain times of the month). It is quite powerful as a mask, so don’t put it on dry areas. It takes down redness and swelling.
  • Avene – I’m gutted this has been discontinued (apparently). This was specifically made for the treatment of cystic acne. I dab this on the red bump and it takes down redness overnight.
  • Origins Super Spot Remover – this is about the third one of these I’ve had. Perfect for those horrible little whiteheads (I sometimes get them on my chin or on the side of my nose). They dry them up or bring them to the surface for popping. Don’t spread it about your face – it is quite drying.
  • Antipodes Manuka Mask – this is antibacterial, so if my face is going mental with lots of spots/blemishes then this goes on. It isn’t drying on the already dry areas, but it does re-balance the skin. It also doesn’t dry hard, so is gentle to wash off with warm water. Leaves skin feeling pure and clean.

Masks: 

20160405_101104

Elemis Pro-Collagen Quartz Lift Mask // Gatineau Radiance Enhancing Gommage // Elemis Absolute Eye Mask // Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub

  • I normally use the two Elemis masks on a Sunday night. The Gatineau one I use once/twice a week or a morning after cleansing and before the rest of my routine.
  • Elemis Quartz Mask – wanted to hate this as it is pricey, but in all honesty, this is the only mask that I can see a visible difference with. It plumps fine lines like crows feet around my eyes; softens skin; hydrates skin, leaving it nourished; repairs my strange horizontal deep dehydration line that I have on the right side of my nose (due to sleeping on my side). My favourite hydrating mask ever.
  • Gatineau – this is a vitamin mask that goes on as a gel and the more you massage it, it turns to an oil/balm. I love it – very under-rated product. Leaves skin glowing healthy.
  • Elemis Eye Mask – deep treatment for fine lines around the eyes – crows feet/laughter lines. I leave this on as an overnight eye treatment sometimes and it is lovely. Again, pricey – sorry.
  • Lip scrub …. I did love this, but now I’m just ‘using it up’ which is never a good sign. I feel like my ‘like-affair’ with Lush is coming to an end ….. I’m on the hunt for a new lip scrub I think.

Ok – there you have it. Those are all the updates to my routine. I have to say, apart from the Verso Eye situation and the insane dryness since the holiday, my skin has been behaving itself of late … I definitely think that is down to this routine. My favourite part of it at the moment is probably the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream and the Blossom Jeju Camellia Oil combination – it is so nourishing and the perfect base for makeup. And if you have dry skin – get that Clarins toner – you won’t regret it!

Thanks for reading

X

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Updated Skincare Routine – April 2016 …

Leave a Reply

