Budget · Make Up

High street / Drugstore Gems …

… I’m back!

It is the school holidays, work can take a back-seat, I have some free time and I can blog again! Hurrah! I’ve been stockpiling my rubbish for empties posts; keeping a loooong record of any new purchases and taking photos of my makeup bag for the last few months – hopefully this will all be interesting viewing over the next six weeks! Make the most of it everyone – this is what happens when you’re a full-time teacher who wishes she was a full-time beauty blogger instead!

Right – let’s crack on …

20160725_120304[1]

These beauties have been purchased by me over the last few months – and I have to say that they are ALL total loves. They are all available in Boots/Superdrug, either online or in store and I thoroughly recommend them all to you!

  1. Rimmel #InstaFlawless Perfecting Tinted Primer in Light/Medium £6.99 Boots – I read about this on Sali Hughes’ beauty blog and wanted to give it a whirl. It is a bronzey, perfecting, glowy kind of base/primer product. It does have SPF15, so that is a plus point and – on my skin anyway – it just evens things out: takes away redness and the very pale, ghostly undertones of my skin and gives me a healthy looking freshness. I very much doubt I am the target audience for this product, but I love it – either alone or under foundation. It doesn’t peel/roll under foundation and doesn’t give me spots either.
  2. Seventeen Skin WOW Highlight and Glow Primer £5.99 Boots – I love love love this. Yes, it is glowy to the extreme, but I wouldn’t wear it alone so who cares?! It gives such a nice ‘lift’ under foundation and just makes my skin look more healthy. It isn’t for the faint-hearted and you definitely need foundation on top, although you could dab a little on cheek bones after foundation I guess. It is a beautiful highlighting primer for pale skin as it is icy-toned; some glowy primers are too orange/warm for my pale skin. Very slightly similar to the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfectors, but so SO much cheaper.

These images (Rimmel on the right, Seventeen on the left) show them blobbed on my hand, swiped and then fully blended. The photos don’t do them justice). 

3. L’Oreal Nude Magique Cushion Foundation in 01 Porcelaine ‎£14.99 Boots (wait until an offer comes up!) – I had quite low expectations for this foundation; the cushion malarkey didn’t really convince me, but a 2 for ‎£12 on L’Oreal did persuade me to test it out, alongside the Bronzer coming up next. I have to say, this was a very pleasant surprise! I don’t use the sponge thing you see in the second photo below, I just use a normal brush (Real Techniques Face Brush or the EcoTools Bronzer Brush), dab it in and then apply to my face. It isn’t a heavy coverage at all, but it does cover some – I’d say you could get it to a medium coverage. What is does give though, is a lovely light glow. It feels weightless on the skin and it lasts pretty well too. I’ve been wearing this every day for the last few weeks in the heat we’ve been having here, and it has handled it well – I’m impressed.

4. L’Oreal Glam Bronze Cushion de Soleil £14.99 Boots – So, like the above, I was skeptical about this but again, it has turned out to be one of my favourite finds of the year so far. It is SO easy to use and blend in to the skin. It looks quite dark in my swatch, but once buffed in with brush it looks gorgeous. I’ve been using this all over the face to warm up my complexion (my body is a bit tanned at the moment, but my face will never be thanks to SPF50) so it matches my shoulders/arms/chest. I just use the same brush as I used for the foundation above and go straight on top of the foundation. It doesn’t move it or interfere in any way and just makes me looks lovely and bronzed! It is a lot more forgiving than powder bronzer too as any mistakes or being too heavy-handed can be easily blended out.

5. L’Oreal Mega Volume Hippie Mascara in Black  ‎£7.99 Boots/Superdrug – I am such a sucker for mascaras – I think I have about 10 on the go at once and I’m always searching for a better one, even though I have found some gems over the last year or so. the high street/drugstore has really upped their game with mascara, and the Hippie one is no different. Lashes are volumized and thick and a teeny bit clumpy – which is a look that I like. It isn’t a bugger to get off and doesn’t smudge on me. I will always always love my Lancome Hypnose mascara best of all, but L’Oreal, Maybelline and Max Factor really do own the cheaper mascara crowns!

6. Seventeen Stay Time Concealer in Fair £4.49 Boots – This is such a good, bargain concealer! It is more of a thinner formula than I am used too, but it still packs a punch and sits well on my skin. It really reminds me of the (much pricier!) Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer, which I also own, and there really isn’t much in it – I’d say the UD is a bit more pigmented. This Seventeen one though, does last and does cover spots and marks on my face. I’m not going to say it doesn’t crease, because it does under my eyes – but then again every single concealer does as I have lots of crepiness and creasing under my eyes with loads of fine lines – and this isn’t botox! All in all though, for under a fiver, this is fab.

7. No7 Stay Perfect Shade and Define in Coffee Bean and Cool Mink £8.00 Boots– These eye shadow pencils are AMAZING. They do not budge at all and they last all day long. I bought these two when I had two No7 £5 vouchers, so they only cost me £3 each which is just incredible value for such a high quality product. I own these eye shadow pencil products from Bobbi Brown, Trish McEvoy, ByTerry and Rosie H-W for Autograph at M&S, and they are all more expensive (by over £20 mostly) and these are just as good, if not better – they last better on my eyes anyway. I now own four of these and I’d highly recommend them to all – they are so easy too: one swipe and blend with a finger or brush and you’re done.

8. Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette ‎£9.99 Boots/Superdrug – Now this is a bit of a cheat as I’ve had this for about a year now, but I wanted to include it as it is (IMO) THE best highlighting product you can find on the high street. When I got this last year, nobody had spoken about it, I couldn’t find any reviews and it was a bit of an impulse purchase – I chucked it in the drawer and forgot about it. Then, about five months ago, I started seeing it pop up all over YT and Instagram and on other beauty blogs, so I dug it out and started playing around with it. And it is a gem! Four beautifully pigmented highlighter shades, three powder and one cream; there is something for every skin tone here too. I love the icy, pink toned one for my pale skin, but equally the yellowy one looks lovely on my skin-tone too. The bottom right shade is similar to Jaclyn Hill X Becca’s Champagne Pop (which cost me a bomb but actually I reach for this palette more!). The top left cream shade is also gorgeous and I’ve been using that when using the Cushion foundation and bronzer mentioned above. This really is the most stunning palette and the most amazing value for money – you won’t find a highlighter better on the high street.

The photos above were taken in normal light (left) and bright sunlight (right). The far left shade is the cream shade (top left in the palette); then the yellow shade (bottom left in palette); then the peach shade (bottom right in palette) and then the icy pink shade (top right in palette). 

Well, there you go – it feels nice to be writing about makeup again! If you buy one this from this post, make it the Sleek Highlighting Palette – you will not be disappointed!

I’ve got lots of posts planned for the next few weeks, so pop back and have a look. Next up are some empties with mini reviews.

Thanks for reading and sticking around!

X

Leave a Reply

