Babies and Children · Bodycare · Empties · Haircare · Skincare

Empties – A Fresh Start

It has been an absolute age since I’ve last posted on this blog. I’ve put a few things up on the Facebook group, but nothing on here since the end of July last year. Oops. Life has just got in the way really. Being a full-time English teacher and trying to keep a blog going just doesn’t happen! But, I do love writing about skincare, make up and general beauty stuff, so I thought I’d give it all another go again … and my empties box is overflowing so it was that or chuck it all away un-blogged.

20170318_150451

Paddy’s Foamy Stuff – This was used up by Elsie. It is ‘nasties’ free and smells like gorgeous apples. It is pretty pricey for a shower product, but you get what you pay for. If your kids have skin issues, or you just want to use something without horrendous stuff in it (Johnson & Johnson!!), then try this. I got it in Tesco. Will definitely repurchase.

John Freida Frizz Ease Miraculous Recovery – I got this to try and tame the fluffy frizz at my scalp that I get after washing my hair. It is quite nice – nothing to write home about in my opinion. But not offensive either. It didn’t make my hair greasy, but it wasn’t amazing at taming frizz either. Repurchase? No.

Garnier Intensive 7 Days Replenishing Lotion for Very Dry Skin – I really like these cheap as chips Garnier body lotions. They do contain mineral oil, so if you have skin issues/conditions, then this isn’t for you. But, if you have pretty normal skin and want a good moisturiser, then you can’t go wrong. This is always on offer somewhere. I do only use it on my tummy downwards, as I use my lovely, more expensive ones on arms and chest. Repurchase? Always.

Lee Stafford Coco Loco Dry Shampoo – I loved this. Made my hair smell gorgeous and got rid of the grease in those last days before washing. It isn’t heavy duty dry shampoo like Batiste, but I like that – and it doesn’t turn my hair grey. And the smell: amazing! Definite repurchase.

Mandara Spa Blooming Bath and Shower Oil – I got this from Sainsbury’s (not sure if they still sell it), and I think it was about six quid. It has lasted ages – literally about 8 months or so I think. I’ve used it as a shower oil and as a bath oil, but I prefer it in the bath – it just feels better. I’ve really got in to using oils in the shower/bath – next on my hit list in the L’Occitane Almond Oil. I would repurchase this one though.

20170318_150540

Simple Micellar Cleansing Water – I’ve been through about ten bottles of this over the years. I use it for getting rid of heavy eye make up before I cleanse at the sink. It works a treat, is gentle and doesn’t sting. One of the only Simple products that I actually like. Repurchase? Yes – I’ll always have one of these in my possession!

Chanel Sublimage Essential Comfort Cleanser – I’ve been trying to use this up for ages and finally it has given up! I purchased this thinking it was a cream cleanser but it is actually a gel that goes to an oil when you apply, and then a milk when you add water. It does the job, but it is very expensive for what it is. And it stung my eyes like you wouldn’t believe – and because of that I never reached for it. Bit of a dud from Chanel I think … and an expensive mistake.

Elemis Nourishing Omega-Rich Cleansing Oil – This is another cleanser that lasted for ages. By the time I’d got to the dregs, I was bored of it! It works and the oil is more effective than the Chanel gel above,  but in all honestly, the Chamomile Cleansing Oil from The Body Shop is much better and much cheaper! I wouldn’t buy this one again, but I would buy The Body Shop’s one…

Alpha-H Balancing Cleanser with Aloe Vera – This is the third tube I’ve had of this and I love it. If you have irritated, red, acne, angry skin – or skin that is confused and is oily and dry, then try this. It is pricey but I got this as a double from QVC and it was much cheaper – or look out for discount codes from Look Fantastic or Beauty Expert. I’ve already repurchased this and will do many more times!

20170318_150640

Chanel Hydra Beauty Gel Creme and Hydra Beauty Nutrition – This is a pricey, highly-fragranced range from Chanel, but I love it (which makes me cry a bit inside!). I much prefer the Nutrition than the Gel Creme – in fact, I don’t think I’d buy the gel again – as the Nutrition suits my dehydrated skin a lot better, but they are both excellent. They smell heavily of camellias – Chanel’s signature scent – which I personally love, but if you have an issue with fragrance or you are allergic, then avoid this completely. The Nutrition is so nourishing and just makes my skin feel amazing. I was so so sad when I’d scraped every last bit out of it. I am putting it on my Christmas list again this year – I can’t quite justify the price right now! …

Blossom Jeju Camellia Dry Oil – This was a pretty average dry oil that I used mixed with my daily moisturiser. In all honesty, I didn’t really notice that it did anything for my skin (unlike the Kiehls Daily Oil – the yellow one). I did also take a while to sink in, so I’m not sure I’d agree with the ‘dry oil’ bit either. I’d pass on this in future – there are better oils out there.

Mabel & Meg Lumilixir Vitamin C Serum + Hyluronic Acid – We all know I love HA (Hydraluron is still yet to be beaten!), but I have to be honest – I totally followed the crowd when I bought this product. I’d read a lot about it from bloggers and on Instagram and I just logged in to Cult Beauty and two days later it was in my hand! Is it worth the hype? … Sadly, I don’t think it is 😦 – which is a shame. The texture is nice and it feels nice on my skin, but I don’t think it actually does anything. Maybe I didn’t use it for long enough? Maybe I was expecting too much. I got the 20ml bottle and used it every morning after toning and before moisturiser … maybe that was wrong? Anyway – I don’t get it and I wouldn’t repurchase.

Burts Bees Ultra Conditioning Lip Balm x2 – This is my ultimate, desert island, favourite lipbalm EVER. I’ve already repurchased it twice since I used these two up. I’ve pretty much got one in every bag and I slather it on all day long. It is the only lip balm that I think actually does anything. I hate the flavoured/tinted ones – this is the only one for me.

Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment – I had high hopes but low expectations (does that make sense?!) for this. My under eyes are SO dry and I’m an eye-rubber with itchy tear ducts, so my eyes take a bit of a beating during the day. I need an eye cream to be thick, but sink in quickly; be hydrating but not give me little spots; it must also be non irritating or roll off under makeup. Well – this ticks every single box. I love it. And I miss it. I’m waiting for my holiday in May so I can pick up another few jars in duty free. The pot lasted me about 4-5 months used twice a day. I realise now that all my other eye creams that I’m currently using (Eucerin, Liz Earle, Decleor, Chanel) are no where near as hydrating as I need them to be. This is amazing stuff – if you have dry eyes, have a think about this.

Done! It feels nice to be back. I’m off to chuck away my massive box of collected rubbish. I’ve taken a tonne of photos today, so hopefully we’ll have a few more posts over the next few weeks.

Thanks for reading. And thanks to all those people – from all over the world! – who’ve continued visiting and reading my blog since July. Even without new posts, it has been receiving between 40-100 hits a day – which mystifies but pleases me greatly!

X

 

2 thoughts on “Empties – A Fresh Start

Leave a Reply

